Humans logo

Who Killed Me?

What He Really Did

By Tanisha DaggerPublished 7 years ago 5 min read
Like

Although I won't be using any names, I’m sure you will get the idea of what happened during this period in my life.

It all started around the age of 15, like any normal fifteen-year-old girl, I would spend days at my friend’s house. Going out shopping, doing our hair, doing our makeup, doing our nails, listening to music, and just hanging out with the family.

Her family were like my second family, always there for me, always letting me stay when needed. I was even trusted to babysit her nephew as he was growing up.

I was the only child so having my best friend and her family around made me feel as if I had a bigger family than I already had. In her house there was herself, her mother, her step-father, her sister, and her brother-in-law at first then came along their son.

I was always very close to all the family after knowing them for nearly 10 years and growing up with them. I never really thought anything could really go wrong.

However, things started to take a turn for the worst when I kept catching her brother-in-law staring at me, watching all the moves I was making. He even started asking me to help him with things that anyone and everyone would be able to complete on their own.

However, at this moment in time I didn't have any worries about it because I didn't think anything untoward would happen to me. But this wasn't the case.

Months and months went on with him staring at me but what man doesn't look at other girls? I still kept to myself thinking nothing would happen. He already had my number from his wife and sister-in-law, so we would chat occasionally and when I was looking for his sister-in-law.

After about a year-and-a-half everything started to get a lot more serious than I ever thought it would. He started asking me to meet him away from the house, started asking me whether I would like to go to for a drive with him or whether I would go on and day out with him and his son. His relationship with his wife (my best friend’s sister) was never great but it was never up to me to ruin it.

But somehow, I was stupid enough to believe every word that was coming out of his mouth, that he loved me, that he would change for me, that he would give me the world or give me what nobody else could. But this also turned out not to be true.

We started talking more, he would tell me how he was sorting everything for a divorce, looking for a new place to live and everything like that. I never planned for any of this to happen but who can truly control every little thing that happens in their life?

A few months later we had agreed to do sexual acts on/with each other which at most points I either enjoyed or loved (well I thought I loved anyway). I'd never felt the way I did with anyone else before but it was just the way he was lying to me and how good he was at lying.

After a year of him fucking about, my ex he scared away came back. I thought it was amazing I could go back to the life I had before he ruined everything. But somehow, he found us, we were just sat on a field talking, the married one turned up and went crazy.

He nearly attacked my ex only on the case of him just talking to me, I’d never seen this side of him before. I knew he had a bit of a weird past but never thought it to be anywhere near as true as it felt that night.

I had never seen a boy so scared. However, it also made me scared of him as well. So, like any girl, I listened to the man who was doing all the yelling, fist throwing and shouting.

I managed to run home and just pretend that nothing happened. But unfortunately, when I woke up everything had happened. I had what seemed like thousands of messages from him and also from my ex, pleading with me to get back with him but because I was so worried about the other one I could "let him down."

Nearly a year or two later, not a lot happened. I knew how to stay on his good side and only get on his bad side over the phone when I knew he wasn't near anyone to hurt them. After spending three years of my life back and forth to this so-called man, one night he flipped. I never thought he would but he did.

However, I thought I liked rough sex but this I don't think came into the range of any rough sex or any sex acts at all. I won't go into details because I don't really want to bring them up, but all I’m going to say is I felt like a rag doll, or a dog’s chew toy being thrown around, bitten and shook about like I was nothing.

Although I suppose I was lucky enough to only have a couple of bruises which were easily enough to hide. I managed to get out of there alive. I didn't go straight home although it was only around the corner that it happened. But I don't think I could face going home at that point so I decided I’d go for a walk.

After this I decided enough was enough, I wasn't going to be treated like that, after all I did was try and give my all and my best. So, I blocked his number, deleted his number, blocked him on all social media sites, and just hoped that I wouldn't bump into him again.

Although he did get past the blocks a few times, I was lucky enough to still get away. Some girls aren't lucky enough.

But he was the one who killed me. Not literally killed me but mentally killed me after everything I had already been through...I was the bullet to my brain. He killed the person I was, the person I was going to be.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Tanisha Dagger

22 years old.

Inspire to be the person you want to be!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.