Humans logo

What will your one act of humanity be?

Catching humanity during COVID-19

By Mary RosePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Ever heard of that saying, "every person for themselves"?

This is a saying that has been popping into my head more frequently ever since the pandemic began in early March.

Since then, a lot of things have happened that were eye-opening as to who we are as a collective society, and individual people. Admittedly, I did not think this "pandemic thing" was going to be as bad as it is now. I didn't know any better. In my 24 years of life, I have never experienced anything like this. As time went on, mortality rates grew, and more places began shutting down. I began to grow slightly concerned, but still continued with my routine of working, going to my internship, and attending graduate classes. This was all I knew. This was my routine. This was my safe space.

Towards the middle of March everything changed. More people were getting sick, and losing their lives. More people were dying. More places were shutting down. Eventually, this trickled into my life. Classes became virtual, my internship became remote, and I was basically out of a job. More specifically, COVID-19 began attacking my own life, and impacting those I care about. What I originally thought was a not-so-bad threat became a real-life threat.

Having this revelation, it made me think: does everyone only begin to care about things when it effects them?

The answer we probably want to say is "no of course not, I'm not selfish!"

However, if we truly do some good old self-reflection, then the answer we find will probably be yes. This isn't meant as a criticism - as I am guilty of it myself. Our lives are so full of trials and tribulations that sometimes, when living through it, or "slugging through it" as one of my favorite professors would say; it can be challenging to think of the other person.

During this time of social distancing it can be very easy to fall into the depths of loneliness. It can be easy to fall into stress, and let our darkest thoughts take over. It can be easy to give up. It can be easy to lose the very essence of our humanity: compassion, and selflessness. We need to have compassion for others in order to survive and thrive. During scary times such as these, we forget about the other.

So I ask this: How can we be better humans when COVID-19 gives us every reason not to be?

What will your one act of humanity be?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.