Humans logo

What it Means to be a Heartbreaker

A truthful analysis

By Letters from JuliettePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
What it Means to be a Heartbreaker
Photo by Alexandru Acea on Unsplash

People use the term "Heartbreaker" to depict someone attractive, desirable, charming, smart, and funny. Basically someone who's got the "whole package". Someone who anyone would want. Someone who will have boys and/or girls drooling at their feet, longing for their attention, lining up to get their hearts broken by this one person. But why is the term "heartbreaker" used so lightly? Almost as if it was a positive thing.

Love is something that requires effort, time, patience, kindness, and trust. When it goes right, it is something that engulfs you completely, and you let it. You give yourself, all of yourself to this person and it feels right. Maybe for the first time in a long time, you feel happy. You feel like yourself. This person helped facilitate the environment for you to grow. But what happens when all that goes away? Like a rug pulled out from under your feet.

Heartbreak is no joke. It is a gut-wrenching, soul-sucking, mind-numbing pain that only dulls over time and sometimes never fully goes away. A heartbreaker is someone who causes grief, sorrow, pain, and disappointment. And sometimes (most times) insecurities and unanswered questions. I would hate to be labeled as a "Heartbreaker". I would hate for my own kids one day to be called such a word. How such a negative word has such positive connotations I will never understand. I'd hate to leave a trail of broken hearts in my path. Broken people. People aching because of something I did. I don't see how anyone would or should desire such a title.

Many years ago I had a friend. She has an adorable little brother who at the time was merely five years old. He had these luscious curls, big brown eyes, and the sweetest smile. My friend stroked his soft hair as he hugged her leg and said almost with pride in her voice, that one day he'd be a heartbreaker. Me, still naive and inexperienced with love thought that it was a compliment. An endearing term. Something one would want. But now I know better and pray to God that he'll know better too.

Heartbreak is one of the most horrible feelings possible. I never truly felt it until recently and now know I wouldn't even wish it on my worst enemy. It is a pain that is ruthless, comes in waves as it pleases, and crushes you. Certainly makes you dehydrated too. So no, I have no desire to be the cause of something like that for anyone. The last thing I ever want to do is hurt someone.

Love,

Juliette

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Letters from Juliette

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.