Humans logo

What Is Life?

A broken world

By tobi mulderPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
a broken world

What is life, and why do we take it all so seriously, when in the end we just die?

I always wonder what all the racket is about succeeding in life, why this desperate need for approval? This need to fit in with the next person, to have the newest this or that. I must admit, I also do like nice things but, if I can’t have it, I will just live without it.

Religion and labels in the lgtbq+ community. I do understand that to most people, these two subjects are very important, as it is to me. Firstly it’s important that people don’t try to push down their religious beliefs on me, and secondly put a label on my sexuality.

I’ve been a devoted catholic for many years, I believed that judgment and condemnation were up to God, but sadly, I found out that the judges are the very people who were seated next to me. Those brothers and sisters in Christ. That was then when I did some soul searching and decided that I won’t be defined by other’s beliefs, then I became spiritual and am now very happy.

Labels are made to tell us what something is or its brand, but humans are not items, so why must we be labeled? When I was very young, I know I was different. I knew I liked boys, and I knew I liked dressing up as a girl, but I never known the terms used, but as time passed, I learned the words gay and lesbian. So I got something to describe myself: I was gay. As the years went by, all these others labels appeared: transsexual bisexual, genderqueer, gender fluid and so on. Well, it was all so confusing that I just decided I am a human and I love men, and that I don’t need a label to define me.

Ever wondered how life would be if we all just minded our own lives instead of dictating how others should live theirs? If we would focus on ourselves and respect the wishes of others? I want to live simply, live like there is no tomorrow. Live and let live. There is so much hate and disrespect in this world, no wonder we live in this world that is falling to pieces. Why can't we just all be equal? The judgment of others can bring so much harm. I dream of a world without judgment and hatred, a world where we all are independent and happy, a world where there are only love and only peace. But will a world like that ever be but a dream of a dreamer? I would like to live on an island all by myself. I want to be like a hermit or a witch or something to stay in my own little magical world.

What is life? Is it just meaningless, just a war to stay alive, battling with our inner demons, trying to satisfy our worldly desires, lust for pleasure of flesh? What could be the meaning of it all? I think if we all will just for a moment stop and seek the answers from within and not in this world, we might just surprise ourselves. We must rather first seek inner peace before we seek peace in this world. We then would find that we are to our own spiritual wellbeing the master, the creator and the destroyer.

Just think what a wonderful life we could all have if we set our differences aside and unite as one human race without boundaries, without all these norms we set, and let one another just be, to love and be loved. It really can’t be this difficult. As I said, we must start to look to ourselves and fix us before we fix anything else. Then we will really know what life is.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

tobi mulder

I'm me just an ordinary person loving life and people.. I'm 34 gender fluid...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.