Humans logo

What am I Gonna do for Valentine's Day?

And I'm Okay with not Having any Plans

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2
What am I Gonna do for Valentine's Day?
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

As we all know, February fourteenth is quickly approaching, and many of us will not have a special someone to celebrate it with, which generally isn't pleasant due to all of the marketing and hype supporting couples.

I surely don't have anyone to celebrate with. And I feel a little sad about it. I mean, who wouldn't? But compared to last year, this V-day is going to be pretty good.

You see, my ex and I ended our break (which began in January) around this time, only for snow to keep us apart since we don't live that close to each other, and he gets so much more snow at his place.

That, along with him being emotionally distant, and not receiving a gift from my family made for a pretty crappy day for me. I managed to hide the hurt until I went to bed that night, though.

I got nothing that year except a broken heart because he broke up with me about a week later. And I had boughten him a card and some chocolate, which he still got about a month later, but that's a whole different story.

However, I don't hate Valentine's day. It's not its fault that my ex had been a dick. The timing just happened to overlap.

So, what am I going to do this year?

I have no clue.

I had thought about getting myself a massage, but I'm trying to save up some money for my next Vegas trip at the end of March, which is exciting because I'll be there for my birthday.

So, I'll just probably be at home watching CSI on Prime video, eating dove dark chocolate that my stepdad will hopefully buy for me. And fending off my dog from my food.

And you know what? I'm perfectly fine with that. It will be like any other day for me. And that has been happening to me more and more when it comes to holidays.

Between being single, not having much family or many friends to hang out with, and being a freelance editor, holidays are like any other day for me now. It's both sad and a relief.

Like in December before my Vegas trip, I went into Walmart to buy a suitcase, and I watched as people hurried to find items before they were sold out.

And it made me smirk, seeing the same events from a different perspective.

But back to Valentine's day.

So yes, I don't really have a plan to celebrate. Of course, plans could change, although unlikely. But at least I won't feel the disappointment and jealousy this time around.

And if you don't have any plans or anyone to celebrate with, you're not alone. And it's okay. There's nothing wrong with being by yourself.

In fact, you should take yourself out to a movie or dinner, or even stay at home like me and binge-watch your favorite TV show. Just treat yourself.

This is probably the best holiday to give yourself some love. You deserve it, especially with what everyone has gone through over the last couple of years.

After all, you have to love yourself if you want to feel the love that others have for you.

You could also send your friends small gifts showing how much you love them. Maybe make it a tradition.

Or if you really want to celebrate Valentine's day with people, throw a party for you and your single friends. Dance, play games, share stories, watch movies. Create lasting memories together.

Besides, you never know how much longer you'll have time to yourself before you find that special someone. And then you'll want some alone time, haha.

So, just hang in there, keep going, and I know things will turn around for you. And, if no one else says this to you this year...

Happy Valentine's day!

Thank you for the read! Hearts, tips, shares, subscriptions, and pledges are always cherished.

single
2

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.