Humans logo

Welcome To My Relief Compound

I have returned to work.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

• Saturday, May 23, 2020. 6:56am.

• Sunday, May 24, 2020. 7:26am = Opened eyes, paid water bill, meditated, fell back asleep, another water bill, took shroom, hydrated.

• Monday, May 25, 2020. Water bill, meditation, interpretation, light, shroom, hydration.

Notes From Group Meditation

At sundown, there is a transition. Different lights meet. How does that between space feel?

In contrast to action, peace is unrest. Rest is a return from wandering. There is an exchange of air when we breathe.

Someone I worked with many years ago, reached out to me at the beginning of the New Yorkuarnantine. They said that they had a great idea for a screenplay and could I possibly help?

Of course I can.

The subject matter of their story has nothing to do with PTSDiscovery. It's brand new. Real. Raw. Organic. Full of emotion. And something I could never come up with on my own. The Other Project is going to be incredible. It already is.

TUESDAY -- MAY 26, 2020

I Have Returned to Work

So now the trick becomes less about how much I can complete for myself in one day. I simply need to keep moving by doing one thing each day to maintain my mental health weight. With small steps each day, I plan on being kind to myself this week, low pressure to no pressure.

I have been off for two months. I haven't left my neighborhood, nor have I been on any form of public transportation. I survived, now I'm hoping to thrive. That sounds so hokey, no? I'm aware of it.

During my lunch break, I sat outside on the Gowanus Riviera. I sat on a bench, and took off my gloves and mask. I closed my eyes, and tilted my face up directly towards the sun. It felt warm, delicious and nice. And I briefly wondered, what the hell is evaporated cane juice. Because it's in a lot of products, and the past two months of my life just evaporated. Just like my Younger Cousin and Actor Friend, they vaporized since my last day of work in March.

According to Dr. Internet, all sugar is made by taking the liquid of the sugarcane plant, evaporating it, and then its spun. This separates gooey molasses from the crystallized sucrose. White sugar is stripped of all traces of molasses, while evaporated cane juice still contains molasses, which gives it a darker caramel color.

WEDNESDAY -- MAY 27, 2020

This morning I woke up at about 4am with a massive headache. I made toast, took two aspirin free Excedrin, and put ice on my head. I fell back asleep for another two hours. Had some crazy vivid dreams, although I didn't remember most of them when I woke up. I know I was on the 2 train heading into The Bronx.

I got to work very early. The bus has been so unpredictable, I wanted to give myself extra time. I sat on the Gowanus Riviera. It was a beautiful day. I got some writing done, then did some tai chi. I noticed that there was a man in the parking lot doing tai chi by his car as well. As I twisted in a different direction, off in the distance there was a waving flag. It was the flag of the country in which my Younger Cousin was born, where his parents met, and fell in love, and created him.

Just So We're Clear

My decision to stop taking aspirin was not my own, it was encouraged by a medical professional. I still recommend Excedrin for a headache. In my opinion, nothing works faster. Did you know that both Extra Strength and Migraine are the same recipe?

Last year, while I was at work, I looked down and my arm was bleeding. I had the tiniest cut, about the size of a pore. I had no idea how I or on what I cut my arm. I know that about six hours later, this tiny little hole in my body was still bleeding through a maxi pad I had taped to my arm. I went to the emergency room to add to my freakish history of workers comp claims. The wound was too small for one single stitch, so it was sealed with medicated glue. Let me ask you this question. When was your last tetanus shot? I couldn't answer that question either, which is why I received one.

After a discussion with the ER doctor, we decided that it might be a good idea to lay off of any type of aspirin, which thins the blood. By the way, so does ibuprofen. This is how and when I discovered Excedrin Tension Headache. Which is essentially acetaminophen/Tylenol and caffeine. The only thing I have against aspirin at this point are the business practices of a major manufacturer, not the pain relief compound.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.