Humans logo

We Are Lost

Innocents and wonder lost

By Pam HansenPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I sit here on the beach, watching the sunset and the people sitting, and waiting for the fireworks to began to celebrate yet another holiday that most don’t know the root of what it represents.

We, as a human race, celebrate so many holidays, and we do so 'cause it gives us time off work and extra money, but do most know the origin or the meaning of that holiday? I would guess not. I admit not even I know what most holidays represent, and yet I to look forward to the extra money and time.

Yet, as I sit here with the people waiting for a show, I watch the sun go down and it creates such a beautiful show of its own in the sky, and I think how when I was child I enjoyed life. I wondered at the world and nature, and now I am like most, caught up in the hustle of life but I am not living.

I work a nine to five job for someone else who gets rich off me, while I struggle to provide for my family and take my kids out to do fun things, but I, like most, have forgotten that there is so much more to do without the need for the paper we call money that runs our lives.

As I look at that beautiful sky I am reminded I need to slow down, I need to get back to what I have always loved and that is nature. It’s laying in the green grass, and staring at the clouds, and seeing the shapes my imagination afforded me as a child, it’s taking a walk through the forest and listening to it.

This is what we need to do is enjoy the beauty the planet has to offer us and to take out children out into the forest, and help them appreciate that tree or bird, and not just the electronics we value now more than the people around us, or the nature we take for granted as if it will always be there.

As the sky became black with few stars hanging above the sky lit up with the fireworks, we all sat in anticipation waiting. The people, oh and awed, and when it was over just got up and left back to the world of technology. I sat back and looked across the ocean and watched the waves come and kiss the shore, I watched the geese swim back and forth and stared at the night sky and took in what this planet had to offer me, peace.

We need to slow down, like when we were children, and look at this world with the wonder of a child. Who says we must lose this sense of innocence and become the norm that society has placed upon us? Be unique, be that child when you can, and love what out planet has to offer, not what man created to take us away from our humanity.

Most people today can’t hold a conversation without a phone, most people don’t smile 'cause life must be serious when you are an adult. Well I say screw that, be the child again and get out and love this world, talk to the person next to you, and start smiling and loving the life you have again.

Don’t conform to what society deems you should be, we are all unique, we are individual and let the haters hate cause everyone will judge and everyone won’t like you, but the ones that do are the ones that matter.

Just my opinion, but I know I am going to let the child in me out more and marvel at this world and all its beauty. So if you see me I maybe smiling at you and say hi, and don’t be scared, I’m just trying to get the people back to a life we should all strive for.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Pam Hansen

Single Mother of three who loves writing short stories and poetry. Love the great outdoors and photography and spending time with my friends and family. Just trying to survive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.