Humans logo

Vocal creators do you really want to know?

Are you truly able to handle the negative feedback from ignorant comments on your work?

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
Vocal creators do you really want to know?
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

An increasing number of Vocal creators are expressing the sentiment that they would like readers to be able to comment on their articles. I for one am thankful that Vocal does not have this option for several reasons. When I wrote for a local newspaper I was told I received some hate mail after stating that scripture, as well as history, indicates that regarding the Christmas story, the Wise Men found a child close to 2 years old in a house and not a baby in a manger. I was not allowed to see the letters and was told that I did not need that negativity inside of me. For this reason, I enjoy writing for Vocal because haters don't have a platform.

Those who enjoy what I create can hit the like button and or leave a tip and I will appreciate it.I ask those who desire comments if they truly are ready to deal with the negativity? I also write for Hubpages and have found at times that people can be quite cruel when they don't agree with your assertation on a situation. There is also the issue of responding to comments and also commenting on the work of others. This takes time that could be better utilized by creating more great stories. As humans we need validation but with the good also comes the bad. I find validation on Vocal in the fact that people read my articles.

By John Cameron on Unsplash

I get pumped up when I see my stats rising, someone hits like, or sends a tip. Without any personal communication, an individual has let me know that they approve of what I have written. This motivates me to continue creating and when the green stats indicator rises I get the best thrill of all. I'm an introvert and do not necessarily enjoy contact with those who read. There are times I feel embarrassed and unworthy when a story is praised and I've felt lower than dirt when criticized. I do my best to stay balanced and not let comments either negative or positive to direct my next move.

I enjoy seeing that people read my Vocal stories and I have had moments of "They like me they really like me." I have also been stunned and brought down low when I check my stats and see that an article I spent a lot of time on has not one read. There are now Vocal Facebook groups where stories can be shared but they require that you read and comment on the posts of others which again is time consuming. When I share Soap spoilers in FB groups for daytime drama shows they take on a life of their own. Those who read the article comment and talk to each other and I have to add nothing except next my next spoiler. I do not have to deal with feedback.

By Adam Jang on Unsplash

I get hundreds of notices a day that people reacted, commented, or liked what I shared but I longer look at the feedback. It's my job to produce so that others can enjoy it. I do share in the Vocal groups on FB and I enjoy reading articles that are not featured on the site. I make it a point of always giving positive feedback to the creators. Still, I ask the question of whether or not those who write on this platform are ready for what they might receive? I recall once on Hubpages there was a man who disagreed with my religious views. He made a point to comment on several of my articles and say pretty nasty things.

I had to choose to ignore him and he finally went away but I wish the situation had never come about. This is a part of what happens when comments are allowed. No matter how much the moderators of a group emphasize playing nice, there will always be someone who slips in a negative statement because that's human nature. The Vocal team has not to my knowledge stated why they do not allow comments but I am sure they have a very good reason. Perhaps it is to keep the site free of negativity and have an atmosphere where creators can flow without being psychologically impaired by a harsh statement.

I am 62 and at times deal with brain fog. I wrote an article one day and the term DNA simply would not come to mind so I used genetic testing at least 3 times in the story. A few days later I had an inbox from an unknown person who simply wrote: "It's DNA." I was glad to see this in print as it gave me the answer to what would not come to mind when I was writing. On the other hand, I do believe the woman who commented was being facetious, cynical, and rude. Every now and then those 2 words, "Its DNA comes to mind and I wish they would not.

In my psyche, it sounds more like "Its DNA stupid." So keep in mind that people can and will find you to spew their venom but at least on Vocal you do not have to deal with it. The negativity is all a part of the writing genre and we do need to have thick skin but: If Vocal is protecting us as my former newspaper editor did we should be thankful. The powers that be created this site the way that it is for a reason. I'm going with the flow because I enjoy this safe space where I do not have to deal with ignorance. There is plenty of that on Hubpages and Facebook and I have a question. As Larry Graham and Graham Central Station featuring Chaka Khan sang in the 1980s, Can you handle that?

humanity
5

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.