Humans logo

View Point

by: Nerissha HUnt

By Nerissha HuntPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Facebook posts. Some people honestly think that every post is about them. A picture with a quote, a statement that was made. Don’t be so quick to react to something you see because it may not have anything to do with you at all. The person could just be having a bad day. Or they could be posting just for attention or to make a point.

I never have understood why people think that going to Facebook with aggression and hateful posts really means something. News flash, it means nothing. You are showing the world just how ignorant you are. An intelligent person doesn’t have time to go online and rant and rave to get their point across. Adults handle their problems in silence. People always yell I’m a grown a** woman or a grown a** man. Well, if that’s the case, then act like one. They also hit you with the “I don’t have to explain myself to nobody.” Okay, if you don’t have to explain yourself to nobody, what’s the purpose of your post? You’re explaining that you don’t have to explain yourself to anybody, which is redundant.

Social media is not the place for personal problems. People have taken something that was designed for good and turned it into something completely evil. They call it social media to be social, have conversations, not public domain, tell the world your business, extra extra read all about it. Some people crave attention and post just to be noticed while others post because they are showing vacation photos or pictures of their family, thing that social media is designed for.

I’m surprised that WBTV news hasn’t gone out of business because Facebook is breaking news. Somebody tells a lie on somebody, and it spreads like a wildfire, somebody saw a fight, and everybody wants to know who was there, I’m going live to prove a point about this or that, the list goes on. We create our own breaking news on Facebook.

One thing that really gets me. Why is it that when someone unfriends us, we act like it’s the end of the world? He/she unfriended me! They must be out of their mind! No, you’re out of yours. Know why? Who has time to sit back and worry about the amount of people who have unfriended them? That is showing that you have too much time on your hands. If they block you, so what. I have a block list a mile long and it’s for a good reason. I get tired of people getting on my page acting stupid, so I block them.

I won’t lie. When people unfriended me, it bothered me too. I used to get mad about it. But then I realized that I had nothing to be mad about because it’s their page and they can do what they want to do. So, I got over it and for those of ya’ll that call yourselves mad about it, ya’ll need to get over it too because you won’t die if somebody is not your Facebook friend. Social media is online; its real life that you better worry about.

The choices we make in our lives are not defined by social media. Words are the weapons that lead to our actions and reactions. Words don’t put guns or weapons in your hands. Those are decisions you make on your own. Stop blaming everything on Facebook and take responsibility for your actions. If a post made you feel some type of way, then oh well. The world doesn’t need to know.

To end my story, all I have to say is this: If people would pay more attention to the Lord than they do social media, the world would be a better place.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nerissha Hunt

Writing is not a talent; it's a gift. My stories are transparent. Not fact, not fiction. They are in a category to themselves.

You never know what to expect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.