Humans logo

Using Compassion and Kindness with English Words

When you learn English as a Second Language, your vocabulary to express kindness, compassion, and understanding towards others should be a top priority.

By Ben WPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

One of the key parts of English vocabulary that a new learner to the language should focus on is to how to be compassionate and kind to other people. When you learn English as a Second Language, your vocabulary to express kindness, compassion, and understanding towards others should be a top priority. Expressing kindness in English or in any language will get you very far with other native speakers and can help you in any situation.

When you do your best to treat others in ways that they would like to be treated such as with kindness and respect, you will likely not run into any serious conflicts or issues. There may be misunderstandings and ‘lost in translation’ moments but if you are able to make amends for it with your English vocabulary, you will be forgiven by other people and they’ll often give you a second chance.

To give you some ideas, I’m going to break this article down into two parts. I will begin with compassion, which means showing sympathy and concern for other people who may be going through a rough time or having issues in their life. There are multiple ways to express compassion in the English language and I’m going to give examples of both words, phrases, and sentences that express compassion clearly and deeply. When you are compassionate towards other people without expecting anything in return, that is truly what it means to be a mature human being who is also emotionally intelligent.

Words of Compassion:

• Feeling

• Empathy

• Remorse

• Sorrow

• Forgiveness

• Regret

• Mercy

• Benevolence

• Sympathy

• Mercy

Phrases of Compassion:

• Feel better soon!

• Wish you well!

• Things will get better!

• Stay positive!

• I hear you!

• I’m with you!

• I am so sorry!

• Please forgive me!

• I didn’t mean to!

• Will you forgive me?

Sentences of Compassion:

• I am sorry if I hurt you in any way.

• I didn’t mean to cause you any pain or sorrow.

• I feel a lot of remorse for what I did and hope you can forgive me someday.

• Please know that I am thinking of you and your family in these tough times.

• My thoughts and prayers are with you all.

• I did not mean to cause you any harm or any offense. If I did, I am very sorry.

• I would like to ask for your forgiveness.

• Please have mercy on me as I did not mean any wrongdoing.

• I hear where you are coming from and see that what I did was wrong.

• Please know that you have my deepest sympathies in these difficult times.

Showing compassion in English is all about having empathy for another person whether you were right or wrong. It means showing emotions that are genuine, which may lead to someone forgiving you or seeing your point of view, but it will definitely show that you are a mature person who is capable of admitting their mistakes and seeking forgiveness rather than being stubborn about it.

When it comes to kindness, it always goes a long way whether it is made up of individual words, a few words, or in complete sentences. Showing kindness will open up more doors for you in the English language than any other kind of vocabulary. However, it must be earnest, it must be done without expectation of return, and it must be consistently used in your daily usage of the language.

Without kindness, you will not be able to fully utilize English and it is unlikely you’ll be able to learn other vocabulary within the language itself. When you have kindness in your personal vocabulary, everything else will come shortly after and other English speakers will be willing to help you out so that you will become a better learner and keep being a better person.

Words of Kindness:

• Patient

• Understanding

• Pleasant

• Nice

• Generous

• Charitable

• Humane

• Decent

• Warm-Hearted

• Altruistic

Phrases of Kindness:

• I’ll help you.

• Let me assist you.

• How are you?

• You look well.

• Do you feel good?

• How have you been?

• I’m here to help.

• How’s your family?

• Give my best to him/her.

• My house is your house.

• Thank you very much.

• Excuse me.

• Please!

• I appreciate it.

Sentences of Kindness:

• I am here to help you and your family.

• I’m giving to charity because I think it’s a worthy cause.

• I would like to volunteer on the weekends because it’s the right thing to do.

• Helping people out is the best way to make someone else’s day.

• I enjoy getting out of my seat on the bus to give it to an elderly person.

• Giving back to others without expecting anything in return is true generosity.

• Before you do anything else in your day, you should be kind first.

• My job is to help people with their luggage as a doorman and it makes my day.

• I’m cleaning out the trash in the neighborhood park because I care about my community.

• Before you criticize the world around you, think about how you can make it better with simple kindness.

With Kindness and Compassion, you can go far in this world in any language but especially with the English language. I believe it is truly important to have this post as a separate article because before you dive into any other type of English vocabulary, you should be willing to learn the basics of being kind and compassionate and to use it as much as you can. I promise you will not regret it and you’ll be much better off for studying this particular kind of English vocabulary.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Ben W

Ben helps students from around the world to improve their English language skills. Ben enjoys traveling around the world, developing his writing abilities, and reading good books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.