Humans logo

Unsure: The verdict is still out

The Un-Experiment - Post #3

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
13
Up, down, up, down

Unsure - The verdict is still out

Un-Experiment - Post #3

* * *

I recently had a birthday and am now firmly closer to fifty than forty-five, and I'm unsure how I feel about it. My first reaction is ICK! I don't want to get any older. I don't want to be in my fifties sooner rather than later.

Anybody else? Just me?

I think my sweet spot was my mid-thirties. Not as clueless and lacking in judgement as my twenties, but still feeling on the younger side. No weird aches and pains, more energy. My kids took up the same amount of effort, yet there was an innocence to their age. I miss it.

Reaching forty really hit me. It's so crazy to me to feel young in my mind and at heart, but not look it anymore. I'm not sure how it is for men (and I don't want to assume), but aging for women doesn't just come with changes in outward appearances, like graying hair, wrinkles, thinning eyebrows, age spots and more. It comes with stupid menopause and perimenopause (that's a whole other post though). And emotions, so many emotions.

I try to convince myself I'm wiser than I was twenty years ago, even ten. I've got so much more experience now. I know it should feel like a blessing to have made it this far in life. I should cherish each day as a gift, and some days that is exactly how I feel.

I feel amazed that I've made it this far in life. Grateful I have a loving husband, four beautiful children and a sweet fur-baby. Appreciative of the home we have and the breath-taking view that greets me each morning. Joy in being able to brush off some of the expectations from when I was younger. A freedom to pursue more of my own interests now that my kids are older.

Me and my hubby

But all I can seem to notice lately is how much closer I am to losing things. My babies growing up and moving on with their lives. My confidence in my physical self waning. The part of me that whispers softly that it's too late to try new things, weighs me down. The shame of not having achieved more.

It's disconcerting with each new birthday to know that I am more than likely half way through my life span. My father-in-law always jokes at each family member's birthday, including his own, that they're half way to the next number. When I was 33, that was kind of funny because I was half way to 66. But now that I'm 48, being halfway to 96 seems depressing, because I probably won't live to see it.

People often talk about going through a mid-life crisis, and I can completely identify now. It's a real thing. A battle within yourself. It's a delicate balance to appreciate your age but also accept the reality of aging without always looking back.

I have not figured out how to do that yet. I feel like I'm on a seesaw. It's probably hormones, because you know, the season for women that shall not be named, but whatever it is, I'm not really a fan so far.

One day, I'm embracing wrinkles and a stray gray hair, and the next I'm researching serums for aging skin. The next day, I'm thinking I'm so sick of driving a van and want a new look, but the one after that, I'm holding onto it tightly because it represents so much from the days when my kids were little.

Is it ok to not know how I'll be feeling from one day to the next? I sure hope so.

I guess I'll just take one day at a time, riding my seesaw with as much grace and self-love that I can until I figure it out. And I hope if there's anyone out there struggling with this along with me, that you know you're not alone.

We can compare our age spots ;)

____________________________________________________

If you'd like to stay caught up, please subscribe to my profile!

Here's Post #2:

humanity
13

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    My Dear Mrs. H - As Ringo Star (Beatles) once said: "I'm just happy to be here" As I always scroll through your so unique presentations - You "Sweet-Spot" me - J-Bud

  • This comment has been deleted

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    20's and early thirties were a hot mess - I thought 40's would be cool, but they were just weird - I am now 51 - being "older" comes with a different set of challenges than younger, definitely - but I'm likin' it fine! 😄💕

  • Very well written and relatable. I am 62 and you touched on every feeling and emotion I felt as I aged. Though, I can only speculate that aging is much harder on a woman than a man. My best age was also the mid 30s and I am always saying 33 was the best. Going into my 40s was touch. Entering the 50s was tougher. But by age 55 or so I came to the acceptance that I cannot stop "father time." Age does not bother me anymore... But the thought that I may be living the last 20 or 25 years of my life right now is an eye opener. Embrace the time you have!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    That paragraph that starts with taking one day at a time is the best advise you could give yourself, or anyone else. Very well said.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Splendid story and read!!! We are young in heart & mind. Ir's those bodies aches. In less that five months, it will be the 75th trip around the sun.

  • Of course it's okay to not know how you will be feeling from one day to the other. As for the aging, you don't have to fight or embrace it. You just have to ignore it. Ignorance is bliss. And that's a beauty feeling. And laugh! That's what you taught me and laughter is the best medicine

  • Mid 30's was absolutely my time too! I have slipped past 50, and nearing 60. I also fight the aging process, probably too hard. I'm ready to be childlike again, and live like none of it matters Great job!

  • Lord are we two oars of the same boat! LOL! I'll be 56 in October and this totally nails it! ❤

  • Excellent observations, and we can't stop getting older but we can stop getting old. Keep doing stuff you love, look after yourself, and look at you, you are a great writer now and you have an audience. Life can be fun and rewarding

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.