Humans logo

Understanding People

Your reality vs. Their reality.

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Understanding People
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

After years of personal experiences and second-hand stories, my understanding of people has increased significantly. I will dare to say that I am perfect when it comes to understanding others, but my great deal of respect for their personal reality on life situations has increased my IQ. Again, I can only offer my opinion in what I am about to display, so I hope that you will be able to take this and grow to be a better you.

My perception of life is constantly evolving. As though life events and situation mold me in many ways, my overall perception as to who I am and what I believe in allows me to try and live in the most beneficial way I can according to my beliefs. So, what I'm saying is that my actions and words must match everything I do in life. Now to the reading audience, this should be a standard that everyone should follow. Make sure your words and actions are aligned with what you believe in. Why, because a double-mined person will always be unstable in their ways. So, if you crave stability in your life, I kindly suggest that the actions and words mesh in daily living. We are not perfect in any sense. Please do not beat yourself up thinking that you will be. However, there is nothing wrong with practice to an extent. This is why we must take it easy on ourselves and give others some grace from time to time.

How do we respect others and continue to live within our belief system? Well, it starts with respecting the boundaries of others. To receive respect, one must make an effort to give respect. There are boundaries on many different levels such as education, financial, social and moral. The key to life after respecting the boundaries of others, is to be able to properly evaluate their personal beliefs and their perception of reality. Now their personal life events can mold them to believe various things and allow them to conduct themselves in a particular manner. This is why it is very important that we talk to people before we get deeply involved with them on any level. For the respect of inner peace, great research and time is needed before any decision is made. We all know the saying, "fools rush in". Having experience my foolishness on many levels, I can write a story or two about this saying.

We owe it to ourselves to evaluate others carefully and do the following to preserve inner peace. First, we have to bring ourselves to the understanding that everyone will not think like us. If households can go years with raising multiple children under one roof and see the results of how siblings turn out different, then how can we begin to expect that we will find someone who will think like us from a different household? Is the key to find someone who thinks remotely the same? That could never happen and that is why we see people grow old and lonely, which is Okay if done by choice. However, I think the solution rests with the simple mindset of understanding the other's person of reality. Now their reality can be based upon many things and in so many areas. Our job as the evaluating individual is to carefully assess if this person is a good fit for our lives or not. After that is done, there are a few things we can ask ourselves to maintain inner peace. 1, Can I respect this person's perception of reality, and will it compromise my beliefs and boundaries? 2, What will happen to me if the thought enters my mind that I can change this person, or if this person will change?

This is not hard to do! I truly think the problem comes when we try to force our beliefs and our way of life on others with the efforts to give us comfort. I left examples out on purpose because my intent was to apply this concept to every aspect of our lives. This is something that if the concept is applied in everything we do, our inner peace would be so much better. So, the question remaining is that how do we accomplish things together because we are all different? I will leave you with this and hopefully this will catch on if approached with an open mind. If you find someone with a common goal at hand. It could be anything from running a business, build a garage, or making a home. Is the common goal greater, or your personal pride? Things can only be accomplished in life with some degree of teamwork. Even if there is someone saying they did something all on their own, they had some kind of help along the way.

advice
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.