Humans logo

Uncomfortable Truths About My Relationship

My thoughts on my ex and our relationship

By Elise Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

I've seen a couple of comments on my previous article that I did with my ex-boyfriend and it seems as though some people weren't entirely satisfied with it. So, I thought I may as well answer the very same questions I asked my ex just to make it even.

Disclaimer: My ex took no part in the article this time around. It's just me, myself and I answering these questions about the relationship and breakup. I just thought you oughta know so there isn't any confusion. Okay, carry on.

1. What's your biggest regret about our relationship?

The way I acted in the relationship and how I treated you. They weren't my proudest moments. I definitely regret being selfish and cruel in my words and actions.

2. What's your favourite memory of us being together?

Coming up with ideas of what our future would look like and the plans on how we would get there. Looking back at it now I can see we were just like two kids who had no idea what was really in store for us but at the time it was fun to dream big, even if it would never become a reality.

3. What's your least favourite memory of me?

The few weeks leading up to the breakup. 

4. What would you have done differently?

I would have tried to be a little more understanding and less selfish. My views on how relationships should be weren't what you would call mature or healthy.

5. Do you still think about me?

Yes, I do because you're the reason I am where I am today, so I give you most of the credit, and a little to myself as well but mostly you.

6. How often?

Too often considering that I haven't seen you for a long time.

7. Do you wish we could work it out now?

Yes and no. Yes because it's always fun being around you and I could be myself and let my guard down. I definitely feel that we have some sort of connection and I wish I could explore it now that we're a little wiser. And no because we've failed one too many times.

8. Do you ever talk about me with your friends?

I have every now and again but I try to avoid that topic with other people because I assume they don't wanna hear it.

9. Do any songs or TV shows remind you of me?

Yeah, Aloha Ke Akua by Nahko Bear always reminds me of you. It took me a while to enjoy it again. And South Park definitely reminds me of you.

10. What do you think of me now?

To be honest, I don't know. It's been quite a while since we actually caught up, so it's hard to say if you're the same or if you've changed. Maybe one day I'll find out but I suppose you seem a little more carefree but I can't tell.

11. Do you think you settled with our relationship?

No, not at all. We both put up with a lot of crap from each other but I never once thought I was settling. If anything I thought you were settling by being with me.

12. If you could tell me anything what would you say?

Don't put up with anyone's toxic behaviour, especially if they don't see it as toxic. And also, learn to be more open and honest with your thoughts and feelings, it will make life a little easier especially when it comes to relationships.

13. When we first got together did you want us to last or did you have an exit strategy ready to use?

I was never sure if the relationship would last because of my own paranoia, so yes, I did have an exit strategy ready just in case I needed to get out of the relationship. But I ended up liking you more than I thought and ended up wanting it to last.

14. What do you miss about me the most?

Just being around you, it was always fun even when I wasn't in the happiest mood at the time.

15. Do you think we could ever be friends?

Maybe. It's really hard to say though because I know things would become complicated between us - or for me anyway.

16. Do you think we're compatible?

I feel that we're complete opposites and yet somehow it works - sort of. But I like that we're different, I feel that makes us compatible somehow.

17. How did you get over the breakup?

Writing, writing and more writing. Oh, and listening to a lot of music and podcasts.

18. Would you do it all over again the exact same way?

Yes and no. Yes because I'm happy with where this path has taken me, so I would do it all over again. And no because I regret a lot of what I did in the past, so I would love to correct my mistakes.

---

Thanks for reading this one-sided Q&A that I did with myself. I'd love to know if you would ever ask your ex these sorts of questions? Or if you would answer these questions about a past relationship? 

It's nice to reflect on past loves, it gives us a chance to see how things have changed and how we've grown.

If I ever do another article like this though I would prefer the questions to come from someone else other than myself. It's been fun though. Thanks for reading, have a great day.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.