Humans logo

Unbelievable Story of How I Got My First Movie Role - Adesua Etomi

Adesua Etomi explains miraculous story

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Talk about a story of divine direction and intervention. Nigerian actress Adesua Etomi Wellington is opening up about how she got her foot into the Nigerian entertainment industry and her first big acting break. For many people, the name Adesua Etomi entered into general discourse after the actress appeared in the Nollywood blockbuster "Knocking on Heaven's Door". The movie which saw Adesua Etomi play an abused woman opposite big name actors like Blossom Chukwujeku and Ini Edo propelled her into national consciousness and started her foray into what has been a very successful acting career for her.

Now, during an interview with Hip TV, Adesua Etomi explains how she actually missed the audition for the role in that movie and goes on to explain the supernatural orchestration that got her into the movie. Here is what Adesua Etomi said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Adesua Etomi on Hip TV

Adesua Etomi narrated the story of what happened when she was asked the question "How challenging was it getting into Nollywood?" Adesua explained:

Everything that's worth doing and worth doing well will always be challenging. But I think I was really really guided by God in the sense that a lot of the things that have happened in my life seem very orchestrated. But I also tried my best to stay prepared. I started off by being in a film called Knocking on Heaven's Door that was put on by Royal Arts Academy that's run by Aunty Emem Isong God bless her. At the time, they had already done the first part of the audition and my friends were talking about it. I was like oh my God, I missed it. Normally you'd just be like well I missed it, there'll be others, but I just felt the need to send her a message. I was like "Good evening ma, I heard you had auditions. I missed the first part but I would love to audition for you". They were doing callbacks and she was like yeah, come through. Later on at the end of the film, she told me that she hadn't checked her Facebook in a while and she just happened to check it that same day that I sent the message and my message was one of the messages at the top. So it seems very orchestrated. Obviously I had my fair share of going to auditions, I still do auditions till today. But as I keep saying, it's a marathon not a sprint. This journey is long term.

Wow! That is such a miracle. The fact that up until that point Emem Isong had not even been checking her Facebook messages and then just the day Adesua sent her own message was the day that Emem decided to check her inbox. Talk about divine help and guidance. What do you think about this story that Adesua said? Let me know your thoughts about it by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.