Humans logo

Unbelievable Good Deeds I Have Done

I don't like to toot my own horn, but I have done some unbelievable good deeds.

By Margaret MinnicksPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

I don't usually toot my own horn, but sometimes I remind myself of the good deeds I have done during my lifetime. I have done some amazing things for my family, friends, co-workers, and people I don't even know.

There is something within me that makes me want to do good deeds for others. I live by that principle, and it has always worked for me.

There is nothing surprising for people to shower family and friends with good things, but it is amazing when people do good deeds for strangers.

I am far from being wealthy. However, I live on a strict budget so I can help people less fortunate than I am.

1. Bought Televisions for a Single Parent

I once visited a single parent and her two young daughters. When I began talking about something I saw on television, the children didn't know what a television was. I couldn't believe a five and a seven-year-old child didn't know what a television was. While I was trying to describe a television, I knew what I would do as soon as I left their house.

When my friend walked me to the door, I whispered and asked her if I had her permission to give her a television set. She had tears in her eyes as she nodded her head in disbelief. Therefore, I headed to the nearest Walmart and bought two small televisions so the mother could have her own and her daughters could share the other one.

2. Paid Stranger's Electricity Bill

I heard an elderly woman on the radio saying that her electricity would be cut off the next day if she did not pay her bill. I called the radio show after it was off the air and got the woman's telephone number. She lived not far from me, so I took her enough money to pay her bill. She couldn't believe how quickly her problem was solved.

3. Gave Woman Almost All My Money

I was in a church service when the oldest member of the congregation was honored because it was her 93rd birthday. I was led to write a $93 check for the elderly woman. As soon as the service was over, I presented the check to her. She thanked me with tears in her eyes. She said she was glad I had given her the money because she needed an outfit to wear to her son's wedding the following weekend.

The next week she showed me pictures of her in her new outfit at her son's wedding. She never knew that after writing that check for her I had only $7 left in my checking account.

4. Gave My Promotion to a Co-Worker

Of all the good deeds I have ever done, this is the one I am most proud of. I was interviewed along with another person for the same promotion with a big increase in salary. A man and I were equally qualified, but my boss offered the job to me because of my seniority and work ethic. When he told me I had gotten the promotion, I asked him if he would reconsider and give the promotion to the other candidate. Now, who would do that?

The man was a single father who had full custody of his young son because his wife had died of breast cancer a year earlier. Even though I could have used the extra money, I figured it would benefit him more because of child care and medical bills for his young son who had special needs.

I never regretted my decision, and I never told the man what I had done. My employer promised he would never tell him either. We both figured it was best that way so the other employee would not feel that he was not worthy enough to be selected first for the promotion.

5. People Never Leave My House Empty-Handed

No one ever leaves my house without taking something with them. It could be a book from my bookshelf, food from my pantry, treats from my cabinets, clothes from my closet, or even paintings off the wall. It really doesn't matter what it is. If they admire something, I'll ask, "Do you want it?" After their eyes get big with surprise, I'll say, "Then take it!"

(Photo by Margaret Minnicks/Writer)

I have a giving spirit. I have given about books, laptops, iPads, cameras, appliances, all kinds of gadgets and useful items. If I know someone wants something, I will order it from Amazon.com and have it delivered to their house.

Whenever I buy something for myself, I usually purchase two; one for myself and one for someone who comes to my mind. People have asked me for scarves, jewelry, and other items I have been wearing. I have literally taken things off my own body and given them to people. It is not unusual for me to go to someone's house and see something there that used to belong to me.

Not only do I give away tangible items, but I also provide services for others. If someone doesn't have a ride to go someplace, I usually take them. If they need a babysitter, I will look after their kids to help out.

I know I am on the right track because I feel good about the good deeds I do for others. I also know the world would be a much better place if everyone would do good deeds without expecting anything in return.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Margaret Minnicks

Margaret Minnicks shares articles with readers all over the world. Topics include celebrities, royal family, movies, television, foods, drinks, health issues, and other interesting things. Thanks in advance for TIPS that are sent my way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.