Humans logo

Tyne Side Story

Long distance love

By Jasmine JajiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Living apart means romantic visits, long trips and documenting every moment together to reminisce when you have to leave.

I’m a gaming fantastic. It’s my pass time, my go to when I’m sad and my favourite part of the day! But it’s hard to balance gaming with an active lifestyle, family and friends and especially a relationship. I came to the conclusion that my dream man would have to love gaming as much as me...

My partner and I met on a video game (of all places) and we hit it off immediately. You know, that instant connection? We finished each other’s sentences and all that la-di-da, but we couldn’t help but want to meet each other in person. The only problem was that he lived in Newcastle Upon Tyne and I lived in Devon.

If you know your geography, then you’ll know that a trip to Newcastle from Devon is about five hours by car. Sure, that’s not too bad if you have a car! For the rest of us, it’s buses and trains. After a few hours of searching the web for the cheapest way to meet my ‘one true love’, I’d finally found the perfect solution...Megabus. Okay, perhaps not so perfect. Anyway, I booked the trip and waited impatiently for the day to come around.

The day came and I’d packed at least double the amount that I should have. I left home to go to get the bus, dreading the journey ahead of me. Buses have to be the worst form of travel. Ten hours later (yes, the coach took ten hours) and I’d arrived. I couldn’t feel my legs and it’s safe to say I didn’t want to go back home any time soon. I got off the bus to see Mr Darcy stood in front of me. That has to be one of the best moments, seeing all the fiction become reality. My face instantly lit up and I don’t think I’d ever smiled so much in my life! Obviously, I ran into his arms like the Dirty Dancing scene - and he picked me up and then nearly dropped me. It was as great as I’d imagined it’d be, and definitely worth the ten hour journey.

Later that night, we made plans to go and watch our first sunrise together. Instead of sleeping, we decided it would be wise to stay up ALL NIGHT LONG playing video games. As you can imagine, we were hanging by the time morning came around. But nonetheless, I was going to see that sunrise. After whipping up some coffee and slapping each other to wake up, we made it out the front door. It was absolutely freezing, icy and pitch black. Apparently, Siri doesn’t know what time the sun rises either. But what better place to see the sunrise than the Tyne Bridge? Am I right? We trecked through Newcastle until we made it to the river, just in time to get some great shots.

The attached image represents our first sunrise and the start to an amazing love story.

We spent the rest of our day shopping and taking pictures of literally everything. He took me out for lunch to Carluccios - my favourite Italian restaurant - and we just about made it back home without collapsing. Since that day, I’ve learnt to never venture too far on little sleep.

Where are we now? My partner and I have moved in together. We’re studying engineering, still gaming through the night and still catching sunrises! I guess distance means nothing, when someone means everything.

Oh, I do love a good soppy ending.

(Please always be careful online. Ensure that you know who you’re talking to before you decide to meet them!)

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.