Humans logo

Today!

What's so special about it?

By David MilnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today is special, it's the first day of the rest of your life. Ohh is that all? I hear you ask. Yes, that is all but it is incredibly important as well, after all if that wasn't the case then there would be no pont being awake now would there? You wouldn't be able yo go for that cup of coffee or slice of cake. You would be stuck with no ability to taste, or feel. That stroke of skin or fur of a loved one wouldn't happen and would mean absolutely nothing to you, because 'you' wouldn't be here.

No, this is not a religous note, I personally do not accept religion as a good thing. I actually see it as one the most evil and destructive forces on the surface of our planet but that is another topic for another day. Today is the start of a New Year, Okay, so I'm late its actually the 3rd of January here, but hey, I'm a Scotsman and we take Hogmanay seriously here. To be honest its been one of the quietest I can remember in all my years on the surface of this planet and I've been here for a while. We're in Level 4 restrictions which is pretty close to a lockdown at the moment and that stopped all the normal parties and celebrations that would take place, so what did we actually do? We sat in and watched the TV. Boring? pretty much, yes, and that is what started all of this. I started to think about what there is to be grateful for. Compared to many I'm an old man (I'm 56) and don't really do much nowadays but I've been to parts of the world many people can't spell let alone have ever heard off and I've seen a great deal but the picture I took this morning, thats it above, out of my office window, shows many things that we have to be grateful for right here on our own doorstep. Yes its a rubbish snap taken with my phone a few moments ago and I can do far better if I choose to take the time. However for this purpose it does very well. If you look at the picture you will see I'm looking over a golf course, in this case an unnatural green scar on the landscape, there are birds on the air and deer and rabbits, badgers etc on the ground, not all of them visible in this picture to be honest, but I can assure you they are there. There are trees growing and rain drips down over the window, its just newly stopped actually, there are grasses, gorse bushes and all sorts of life out there and me, I get to look at it and watch it grow and die as time goes on. In the middle of the picture there is a reflection of another window in the background. It just serves as a reminder that there is always another point of view and something else to see if you look in the other direction.

What does all of this mean? Well, I understand it to be that there is always more than one point of view and not all of them, and sometimes none of them, are actually right. So be tolerant, look forward and see the positives around you all of the time, because they are there, no matter how small they may seem to be at the moment. Other people will see things differently because they do not stand in the same spot as you, that does notmean they are automatically right or wrong, just different. After all, at one time everyone 'knew' the earth was flat, some people still do. Just look forward, remember what's behind you and be positive about your future because thats the best we can do.

advice
Like

About the Creator

David Milne

I'm a Scotsman living on the North East Coast looking out over the North Sea. I act and write and do a bit of voice work but am best known for my battle with my neighbour over the destruction of a 'protected site' to build a golf course.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.