Humans logo

To the Men

Or Why you are my Heroes

By Justice for AllPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

The last two years has been beyond a disaster.. because I dated one Pooler PD officer for two months. Their department rather than jumpstart a battery left me in my car for months in a Starbucks parking lot. They took my two cats Jacob and Ella, the took my car, evidence in my wrongful termination, proof I was sexually assaulted in November 2018, falsely arrested me and still are telling me they destroyed the car with a court order doesn't exist. Their Lt Randi Linder wouldn't investigate it, their Capt Bogden called me "mentally ill, a drug addict and an alcoholic", "I'll leave you to investigate it yourself", Chief Ashley Brown has reminded completely silent. To protect one officer. My fellow law enforcement officers have done nothing for two years, about the sexual assault- telling me they don't interview sexual assault victims, they don't want the photos of the pictures of when I was sexually assaulted, the hotel receipt anything.

Everyone I have ever cared about has either attacked me, blamed me or turned their back on me.

The only Silver Lining has been random people who have stolen a piece of my heart with simple acts of kindness and morale support. It's always been men who believed me, who have trusted me with their secrets to let me know I am not alone- that they have been there. They always have been the ones to encourage me when my heart was falling to pieces. 2 years of being attacked in some form or another by people making accusations, refusing to make the problem better..but men are always the ones to fix a piece of me.

One Richmond County Sheriff's investigator Albert Brazon was the only law enforcement in Georgia, including my ex boyfriends, Steve Craft - The Chief Assistant Public Defender in Columbus who wrote a letter of recommendation for me to go to law school in 2018, Steve Collins with the Dalton Police Department, Austin Roberson, a UGA lawyer, along with every man I ever respected or wanted to help in the State of Ga who took time to even try.

The encouragement I am not any of the things that have been said about me, to me or the sum of the trauma that continues has fallen to a Nag's Head, NC police officer who listened to me cry for two hours on the phone when his fellow police officer , David Shane Allen should have called back his friend, a NAVY SARS nurse on my LinkedIn who told name he was sorry, a EMT named Allister with Gold Cross during a trip to the hospital for heatstroke, a EMT named Thomas who said I should not have had to put myself in an ambulance, A Chamblee PD Patrol Supervisor who tried to get Brookhaven PD to respond when I went to report the sexual assault and asked me if I needed reading glasses, A City of Gainesville PD Officer who said to me "We appreciate what you do too", to a LinkedIn contact. Darren Amos who apologized for his Emergency Medicine brothers and sisters who told be me if I ever called for medical help I would be arrested. It has been not my friends and professional contacts who have done anything. It has been a Gainesville firefighter, Justin Carpenter saying "be careful with her she's in pain", " I'm sorry you have just been through it", a contractor Rob Sanders trusting me with the story of his pain, a man holding the door that has reminded me while they can't fix anything that was broken by so many others they care and don't want it be worse- They don't agree with things they can't control. It has been a young man at a Pizza place , Charlie that I saw every morning who remined me of all that I did as a probation officer, Kevin with Hall County schools system who encouraged me to go back into probation, Ofr Robert Smith with the Houston PD who told me "That wouldn't fly in Texas", the men of Gulfstream who always made sure I felt safe, Greg with FedEX who let me steal some of his fries and had a cigarette whenever I needed one.

This list is far from inclusive but these people know who they they are and credit always goes where it is due.

These men and so many others have literally saved my belief that men are good. They have unknowingly supported my dreams and encouraged me to get justice where none has been given. They haven't been silent in my worst moments of pain. They have been the reason I want to protect their daughters, mothers, wives, sisters and girlfriends from what has been done to me- a complete injustice done when I was sexually assaulted by a tow truck driver and the Brookhaven PD, their Mayor John Ernst in not making sure it got investigated. Their "We stand by you, not against you" has been why I hold on to the dreams of everything I always wanted to do- to be a lawyer - for them. I can't explain why it is always the women who break me down with the "You deserved this," the "forget you were raped" .. The actions that have literally put my life in danger, like having me dumped in a city I know no one, in the street after being a hospital. They have not supported that my father Edward Voss Rogers literally left his only child to die making up stories about me being put in a hospital for threatening to "blow up a police station" that never happened, or who disconnected his phone number and won't return an email for over a year because he threatened to hire hitmen to kill Savannah Mayor Van Johnson and the former head of Chatham Juvenile Court, Adam Kennedy for years, until I couldn't reach him. It is always these men, sadly it has not been a man with a GA POST license or law degree. They have taken it upon themselves without me even asking to make sure I was alive. They can't put anyone in jail. They can't do anything but make me feel safe in an entire state because of police officers who have done nothing but take away pieces of my life time and time again. They can't take away the threats of a case manger, Rachel at North Mountain Ga Crisis Domestic Violence to dump me in a homeless shelter in a state I have only been in once, for a few hours to put documents in a bank that would put everyone who could hurt women in jail. It has been the mere acknowledgement that Real Men don't support Rape, domestic violence, animal murder, car theft or destroying a woman..they believe in building her up when everyone else .. and always the women have broken me down. They haven't judged me and have looked past the toll it has taken on me and made sure I could feel somewhat independent again when I always was.

For 22 months the men who inspired me to want to protect men's right's, to help them get a fair chance in court, who I protected all of their secrets because they meant something to me have all abandoned me. Men who would mail me a mason jar for a social committee fundraiser, men who treated me like their peer- Thomas Cole, a juvenile court judge every man I drew inspiration from or respected have all turned into the nagging fear in the back of my mind that I try to remember believed in me. Every man who I looked at with respect, including Alan Lowe have not spoken a word, returned an email, or phone call, pulled a single string to make any of this easier.

None of these men have been anywhere to be found, none of these men have done anything to save their friend when they all have known for over a year what has been done to me. Men who would listen to me cry when I didn't get a job with the FBI, men who told me they couldn't let me go unless I went to law school have all ignored things they could have changed, and so much pain that can't be undone. My life was charmed and destined for great things until one by one they protected themselves and not their friend.

To the men who have picked up the pieces where they could, who had my back for the last 22 months you are my Heroes.. not the Georgia lawyers, judges, police officers who turn a blind eye. To the men who have been sweet to me, protected me and can't do anything- Real men support, real woman appreciate. From one woman who can't do anything but say Thank You for saving my heart and in this case my life.. Every day is Adopted Daddy and bros day. It is because of you I still believe justice can be found when even the press hasn't cared for 14 months- to busy making stories of non-victims headlines and not questioning why a Deputy Police Chief made my sexual assault case inactive because I went up the chain of command, when Detective Sarah Miller wouldn't even interview me . Collectively you are the Men Behind the Woman. The men who wanted me to be an amazing attorney and helped when I needed legal help to take on a county all have disappeared, but to each of you that has stood with me in moments of unbearable pain..You are the true Heroes. I miss you all, I miss your reassurance that I didn't deserve this. I miss the reminders I matter in the world. I miss you taking a stand where I can't. You are more Men then departments full of police officers, you are what matters the most, because you never push me hard, your gentle hearts have shown through the gruff exterior. My grandfather fought in WWII, I don't even have the pictures of him in the Navy, his obitituary too look at because of the Chatham County Sheriff's Department taking all of my electronics illegally, without a search warrant in June 2019 when a former coworker Will, a former USMC took even the pictures I had. I will tell you this those of you that don't think what police officers and deputies took and refuse to return, who have physically just about killed me literally each time I have stood up for myself, denied me justice and the ability to pursue my dreams..I don't need you to be silent. I need you to speak up for me. I need you to remind me no one thinks that these people are good people. I am grateful for each of you that have supported me. I am grateful to the ones who feel like I matter enough to speak for and to. I need my council of Adopted Dad's and bros to continue to be my voice.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Justice for All

"Justice delayed, is justice denied" "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

Tattooed, Employed and has a Psych degree..Always on the look out for a group of Avengers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.