Humans logo

To Coddle or Not to Coddle

Who Benefits from It?

By #KristinaWritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Volunteering is How you Learn to Love OTHERS

This past weekend I went to volunteer at an event in our downtown area feeding the homeless and giving free items away. It was a great experience and I love doing it. I am a people person of sorts; I don’t care how much money you have or don’t have. So, to me, it was good to be down there giving to others who may very well not have it unless it was given to them. Here is my conundrum. When I was talking to friends about bringing their family and volunteering their time as well the answer was quickly, no.

Without becoming offended, I just advised them it was okay and maybe they could volunteer next time. That was when the stories started. The reasons why they could not volunteer their time. There were some good reasons, or excuses, as I like to call them. The people that needed to work were understandably excused. However, it was the ones that said they did not want the kids to ‘see that’. When that comment was made about what the kids would see, I took offense to it, and I am not even homeless.

Kids Are Going to Need to Help

One friend of mine went into detail once I invited her and her son to come along for the experience. There were so many excuses thrown out there I cannot even remember all of them. She did not want him to be touched, abducted, or get lice from being to close. She did not think she would be able to focus on helping while watching over her son at the same time. She was scared that he might see some sort of violence. The list goes on and on, and, quite frankly, I just let her talk…

This conversation really got my mental juices flowing! Was she right?! Was it too dangerous to go down there and give food out to homeless individuals? Would I regret it as well? Was I putting myself in harms way with this so-called act of kindness? Now I was questioning my own intentions. I quickly put a halt to that and realized that the time to stop coddling everyone is now. Right now!

Kids need to be taught how to be safe, first and foremost. Do not talk to strangers, stay out of immediate trouble, do not walk up to vehicles, and do not entertain anyone they do not know. Once this is taught, they can ride bikes and play in neighborhoods again. Like children are meant to do. In all actuality it is documented that most children are victimized by someone they know, not a stranger. Now, before I am crucified for that statement, I am not saying ALL, I am saying most. There is a huge difference.

Helicopter Parents Are Not Helping

Overprotective parents are not helping their kids grow into responsible adults. Often referred to as helicopter parents, they oversee entirely too much. By not allowing your kids to be in a situation where they need to make swift judgement, they will never learn how to. This reminds me of a scenario I saw once at a playground in Texas. There was an actual sign at the playground that read ‘no running’! Are you kidding me?! I was stunned when I saw it, but then when I looked around and saw all the parents hawk eyeing their kids; then, it all made sense. That is precisely what the parents wanted.

Long story made extremely short is this; it is not the best idea to be your kid’s best friend. It is not recommended at all. Allow them to make judgement calls for themselves. Also, think of it this way; when there is a chance to volunteer and help someone less fortunate than yourself; do it. You might surprise yourself with what you learn.

Until next time!

#KristinaWrites

Remember: If you like what you read; feel free to Pledge, Subscribe, or even leave me a Tip :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

#KristinaWrites

I love life & everyone in it! I have realized what I really want to do with my life; Write!

So, I'm an Ghost Blogger, Content Writer & Generalized Creator based in Texas and I write about...Life!

Follow Me: Facebook

Website: KristinaWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.