Humans logo

Tiger Striped Sky - I

Chapter One

By Briar RosePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

"Relax, feel the calm sensations through your body. And when you're ready, ease yourself back. Begin by wiggling your toes then your fingers. Take a deep breath and stretch your arms over your head. Take up space on your mat as you stretch your arms back before rolling up into a sitting position. Bring your hands to your heart once more and exhale. Namaste."

Deep releases of breath fill the room.

"Very good. Now I hope to have everyone visit our class again, have a great day!" Wrapping up the class, I grab my belongings.

"May!" Riley calls my name as she runs into the yoga studio. The right sleeve of her oversized shirt laid off her shoulder while her back bag was slung on the other. Her platinum blonde hair was up in a ponytail but her fly aways sprung from her scalp. Freckles danced across her puffing cheeks as she struggled to breathe.

"Did you just run here from school?"

Her shoulders sag as she bends down to flop onto the floor. "Oh my gosh, I am so out of shape."

"Well, I hold a class here every week. You are free to join."

Riley rolled her eyes at me. "Ugh! You really think I have that much motivation? I barely have the motivation to get out of bed."

I simply rolled my eyes back at her before questioning her rush. "So, what's got you all worked up? Don't tell me Zachary got himself into trouble again."

"No, no, no, no, no!" She quickly shook off the idea of Zachary. "There is an emergency meeting for Mr. Hillman tonight. I think we might be going on a trip."

My eyes lit up at the idea of a chance to study abroad. Each year a different class within the Wildlife Biology major at my college gets chosen to go on a class trip. For the past 3 years, I have been hoping my class would get picked. Unfortunately, mine has yet to be. "No way! Oh my gosh! When did he post that? Does Zachary know?"

"He posted it 10-"

"May, you will not believe this!" Zachary soon comes barrelling in through the door. His tall, slim figure jumped in excitement along with the dirty blonde curls upon his head. Thankfully, everyone from my class had left at this point so they won't hear Zachary screaming his lungs out.

I laughed at him as he wheezed out breaths. "Don't tell me, it's about the meeting, isn't it?

"How do you- Riley!" He glared at the girl beside him. "I was going to tell her!"

"I beat you, so HA! I win!"

These two have always loved to bicker back and forth. Sometimes I mistake them for twins, despite the fact that they have completely different parents. They have always acted the part too- arguing constantly but there for each other no matter what. Sometimes their squabbles were quite annoying, much like now, but I still loved them the same.

"Will ya'll two stop. This is not the time and place to be rolling around on the- AH!" As I tried to get the two to stop, I fell along with them.

We laid staring at each for before busting out into a fit of laughter. Even when an other instructor from another class came and directed us out of the gym, we didn't stop laughing. It wasn't until we reached the cafe, Country Comfort Cafe, we typically spend most our day in did we stop. The fact that Zachary was one of the clumsiest people I knew didn't help our hilarity when he tripped over his own feet and ran into a pole along the way. He will certainly have a bruise on his forehead tomorrow.

"You three need help." Amber, the cafe owner, spoke when we walked into her shop wheezing.

Zachary immediately leaned against the counter, flashing his supposed charming smile- as he called it- at her. "You love us anyway."

She rolled her eyes at the boy, ruffling his hair. "Sure, you keep thinking that." Amber was only 3 years older than us, despite her mature nature, which allowed us to connect quite easily with her. She often helped balance out our crazed trio. "Would you like the usual?"

"Yes, please!" Riley chimed in. "I need my coffee!"

"And I need my muffin!" I couldn't help but add on to Riley's statement. Her food was absolutely delicious. She had recently told us most of her recipes dated back to generations before her, created by one of her great, great, great... grandparents who had actually opened the shop she now owns. Since her parents never shared the same love for baking, her grandma handed the shop over to her five years ago. We are clearly her favorite customers, if you haven't guessed yet.

"And I need my kiss!" Zachary continues.

Amber only shakes her head at our over-enthused demands. "Just go take a seat. I reserved your table."

"Awww you're so sweet!" Riley gushes before sprinting over to our usual table. It was located toward the front right corner of the cafe, tucked behind the barstools in the front window. A cream-colored sofa sat on one side of the dark, rustic table while two chairs sat on the other, matching the table. A vase of freshly cut flowers were the centerpiece of the table, brought here by the florist next door as a way to advertise.

Zachary came and took a seat next to Riley when he was denied a kiss. He has been trying for the past two years and has yet to receive one. I'm not suprised.

"So I heard about the meeting this afternoon," Amber projects when she brings our usual order. All three of us quickly start rambling on about the meeting that had popped up. "May, would you please explain by yourself because I know the other two will start squabbling if they do?"

I let out a chuckle, "Yeah, they do that. Our teacher sent out an email this morning with the 'Urgent Meeting' as the subject. He didn't say much about it, just saying the place and time, but we think it might be to inform us about a surprise trip."

She hums in response. "I don't mean to squash your excitement but each year you three come in here talking about some meeting and then get disappointed in the end."

"But this year is different! He didn't send his usual frowny face in the email." Riley interjects.

Zachary quickly goes to back up Riley. "He NEVER ever forgets the frowny face."

I simply nod enthusiastically along with them while Amber sends us a soft smile. "Well, don't forget to tell me what he says."

"How could we ever."

artfamilyfriendshiphumanityliteraturehumor
Like

About the Creator

Briar Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.