Humans logo

This is a story of a girl... (Part 1)

Introduction

By Elandri van der PoelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Some of us like to be known by what we have done or by who we were before. As if that would make us any better than the rest. Sure, high school popularity means a lot, but that's just it, high school, nothing else. As soon as you leave that horrible place, it's all different. You are just as normal as the next person who walks by. Luckily, high school came and went and so we passed on to college. That's where my story begins.

I was lucky enough to be studying what I love, and I met some amazing people along the way. Some were just passerby acquaintances, while others went on to be lifelong friends till this day. Some even made a big impact on my life. I know you’re probably thinking “Heck, where is this story going?”, but just bear with me. I promise it gets better. This is basically a story of my college life but summed up for easy understanding. The events might be slightly exaggerated, or it might be the full-blown truth and the fun of this is that no one knows except for me. But enough about that, let’s get started.

It was somewhere around August and my best friend Amanda’s birthday was starting to creep up on me and I honestly did not know what to get her and she also asked me to give a speech at her birthday party. Honestly, I’m not very good when it comes to public speaking, but I mean she is my best friend, how could I say no? I helped her plan her party as much as I could and then the execution was all on her part. She happens to be fortunate enough to have a father that owns a local brewery and bar in town and was thus the optimal space for a bunch of 21-year-olds to have one heck of a party. The idea was that the party would be held there and later that night we would go out to town to other bars and nightclubs in the surrounding area. We also planned for months and had multiple options for themes for the party. Because I mean, who doesn’t like a good old dress up party? She eventually decided on the theme “Internationals”, it was a very broad theme but the basis of it was that everyone dresses up as a country of their choice however they wanted to. Next on the to-do list was to decide on who she wanted to invite. Now Amanda and I studied the same course, and she was the first person I met in my class. We became close friends really quickly and we went on many, many adventures together. So, seeing that we studied together, obviously along the way we’ve made other friends and our friend group grew bigger and we had tons of mutual friends. Some of these mutual friends were made through group projects. One of those mutual friends made through a group project is named Kirk.

So now I probably have to tell you the story about Kirk. Oh, and believe you me, it is a very interesting story and one that you do not want to miss out on. The thing about Kirk is that ever since my first year of college I have had a crush on him, but I just obviously never had the guts to confess my feelings towards him. And when we had the opportunity to consider him for our group project, obviously I was keen for that. But before the group project intensified my feelings for him, we actually have to go back to my second year in college. I lived in a sorority and like any sorority I know, mine had a bunch of dances coming up and me being as single as can be needed a date to this dance. Looking back at the Facebook message I sent him to ask him to go with me to the dance, it just makes me cringe all over and just kind of solidifies how stupid it is that us ladies don’t make the first move more often, surely that needs to be normalized. And before you say anything, yes, I still have the message because 1. I like to look back at all my funky ways of doing things and 2. I don’t exactly know how to delete messages on there. Anyways so this is what the message said:

”Hey! Sorry to bother you so late in the evening, but I am in a really tight spot at the moment because we have a dance on Thursday evening and my date cancelled on me last minute. I know it’s late notice but is there any way that you would be keen to go with me. If you can’t I fully understand cause I know you're probably busy.”

So, first of all, my date didn’t cancel on me, I really just didn’t know how to start the conversation. Second of all, why in the heck was I so nervous to send that message. The funniest thing of it all was that his reply was so chilled. He literally just said: “Sure.”.

I mean at this point in time you’re probably once again wondering when does this get “spicy”. Well, buckle your seatbelts ladies and gentleman, cause it's gonna be a bumpy ride…

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.