Humans logo

They Call Me Rebel

Chapter one. Mr.Ego

By Savannah HuttPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

Bravery. In fairy tales it’s the knight in shining armor, slaying the dragon and kissing the damsel. Saving the day and earning the happily ever after. In the news, it’s the people who do something that will catch viewers' eyes, like ‘Man saves several people from an armed robber at local bank.' Don’t get me wrong, that is brave, but when it comes down to you as a person being brave isn’t slaying a dragon to me, being brave isn’t saving lives to me. Being brave to me is something else entirely.

Taking a deep breath and stepping outside of my door and making my way down to the coffee shop called Coffé down the street may seem like a tiny thing to you but it’s an accomplishment for me, at least today it is. Down that street, sitting in one of the faded red booths is the man my mother decided to marry...the man who is the reason my mother is dead. Yeah, I know, it’s a lot. The police don’t believe me when I say that he is the reason why she’s dead. They chalked it up to suicide. Why that was a reasonable conclusion I will never understand, but it makes more sense than ‘Barren Kade the whatchamacallit extraordinaire murders wife.’ Seems a bit more realistic given Mr. Golden's precious reputation. Can’t you sense my excitement?

Reaching the glass door and realizing that I can’t turn around and say I couldn’t come, I faked a smile and reached for the brass handle and pulled it open to the bitter smell of coffee and dust. The shop was almost always quiet since it doubled as a library. Looking around taking in the view and fighting the urge to go and roam the shelves, I took a quick glance at the tables trying to find Captain Perfect and realizing he was late. I check the time on my cracked phone and walk over to the shelves. Getting lost while running my fingers over the spines of the books while reading the locations of the places they’ll take you to, I didn’t notice a boy in the corner trying to get my attention until he threw something at me. It wasn’t something hard, it was light and it fluttered to the floor gently. Looking over, I saw that he was motioning for me to come closer. I took a look at the book in my hands before closing it and slipped it into the shelf.

I walked over there a bit awkwardly, wishing I hadn’t put the book away, it would have given me something to do with my hands. I took my earbuds out of my jacket pocket and start to untangle them. He looked down at my hands then back up to me.

“Nervous?”

“Why?”

“You’re fidgeting”

“Your point?”

“Nothing I guess. Who are you waiting for?”

“Who says I’m waiting for anyone?”

“You seem on edge and you keep glancing over the booths as if you’re scared you missed someone.”

“It’s better than focusing on one person….it’s less creepy.”

“Who said I was focusing on just you? I could have been watching everyone”

“For some reason that doesn’t make it any better.”

“Yea-”

“Excuse me but I must steal this lovely lady from you for a bit Jacin”

I whipped around and came nose to nose to the infamous Barren Kade. My heart started beating faster than I thought possible, it couldn’t be healthy. Trying to wet my dry mouth the stranger known as Jacin came to my rescue.

“I don’t believe that will be possible at the moment, sir”

“Do you have any idea who I am?”

“Yes, you’re Barren Kade. And I’m Jacin Kinde, a person and you will treat me as one just as I will you.” I mentally reminded myself to make sure my mouth was closed. No one spoke to him like that before.

“You should respect me if you know who I am, kid.”

“What is your definition of respect? Mine is I’ll treat you like a human being as long as you treat me as one as well. If you wish for me to treat you like an authority than treat me like one.”

“Ja-”

“We were just leaving,” I cut in quickly. Jacin looked like he wanted to argue but I wrapped my hand around his wrist and pulled. It didn’t do much but it got my point across.

“But we were going to talk?”

“We’ll reschedule!” I yelled as the door slammed behind me. Still gripping Jacin's wrist, I pulled him down the street not really knowing where I was going, he seemed to be thinking just that. He made a weird noise that sounded like he gagged but then got stuck and just choked a bit. I whipped around to find him red-faced and teeth baring.

“Um?”

“Hi!”

“Hello?”

“Care to tell me where we’re going?”

“Care to tell me what that was?”

“With Captain Ego?”

“Uh, yeah.”

“I hate his guts. He hates my family. You looked like you didn’t enjoy his presence. I stepped in.” He shrugged like it was nothing.

“What’s your name anyway? Or would you like to stay a mystery, but no girl as pretty as you should remain hidden.”

“Flirting now are we Mr.Kinde?”

“That depends, is it working?”

“With hair like yours? Of course…..not.”

“Dang….you’ve got a mouth on you.”

“Keeps idiots like you off me, but you seem to have one yourself.”

“But no match to the rapid-fire attack on my ego.”

“Isn’t it charming?”

“It’s incredible,” he said, actually looking like he genuinely liked my comebacks. Liked me?

“You still haven’t told me your name, Princess,” he reminded me. I shook the smile off and looked up at him.

“They call me Rebel.”

Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.