Humans logo

The World Unedited

We are what we eat

By Chelsea PatrickPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The World Unedited
Photo by MORAN on Unsplash

There are many people in this world who say being humble is the best way to be. It has been my experience, with much bias, that being humble only allows you to accept what is already going to happen and acknowledge that it is a precursor to living. When you are young you want the world at your fingertips and patience is not a practice that comes naturally. The world is seen through so many eyes and the visions we see are different from one person to the next. The world is in chaos at this time and it is not going to get better. Do we shut out the cries from the wild, lie to ourselves that our children, our future, are going to be all right, and do we elongate the anguish by continuing down the path we are going? The load we, as humans, bear is larger than we can imagine, and we need all hands to participate in accepting our fate and becoming better biological beings.

I served seven years in the U. S. Navy, worked hard labored jobs, and continued my education. Why? I did these things thinking it would better my future, but it has not. The ones who say they love me hurt me the most, the ones who said they would protect me have harmed me the worst, the ones that said they would give me security have only given me more reasons to be insecure, and the ones who said they would give me strength only made me weaker. I have had to build myself back up from the bottom on several occasions, and I do not blame anyone except myself. When I look back at my past I try to take something from those experiences and promote a healthier mindset. Yes, people can be cruel, and we can come up with so many reasons why these people are the way they are, but it is easier to look at the bad than it is the good. I can be correct 95% of the time, but it is the 5% that is not correct that people tend to see me as. I would like to say that is how everyone sees things though, and not because they are looking for the bad but because it is in our nature to be attracted to things. This "attraction", I would like to think, comes from a survival instinct. When you are walking down a street and you see a color, human, or anything that makes you turn your head to see it, it is an attraction. If someone were silently painting a picture and as you are approaching this person another person shouts something from across the street, you would most likely look in the direction of the yelling than the person painting. This is why I do not blame the "bully”; I blame our natural instincts to focus our attention on the bad rather than the good in life. If I were to conform to this natural way of societal thought process, I would be miserable! Instead, I take a step back, and force myself to think. I think about my next move because it really only takes a minute of thought to come up with a solution to any problem, even if it is a temporary solution, and if everyone were to do this it would be like everyone picking up a piece of trash and recycling it into something useful. We would all be more aware, and we would all have a better outlook and understanding.

The human mind still has so much potential, and until recently, we have been prone to this survival of the fittest mold directed by leaders in every society. Throughout history we have focused our ability to maintain our standards based on the rich and famous. It is humbling to think that we are on a path in which society should start thinking of new and improved ways of co-existing with each other, and we are starting to see what people really think about the leaders of every country. It has been an overwhelming response that we need to hit the re-set button, and seriously reconsider the rules we follow and how we follow them. The rich can just pay their way out, the famous will use their vanity to get what they want, but what about everyone else? The "little guys" that work their backs to the breaking point will never have that, and will never have the thought of, "Is this illegal, and how much can I pay now to make what I want to happen as soon as possible?" I have seen this happen, and it is always the "little guy" who is found guilty. At this point those with power have a god complex so big they think that money will get them wherever they want.

What if money was not a part of our society? I have pushed this thought around in my mind for some time now, and I really believe that if money were out of the picture we would be a better society. We would still have to work for the things we wanted, but monetary gain would be out of the picture. How could this work? We would need to come up with an understanding that money is not helping anyone, and that if we continue to use monetary gains to push out those who truly earn it we are pushing ourselves into a hole that we will not be able to dig ourselves out of. It has become a disease in my mind in that we hold this dollar amount over everyone's head in order to feel like we have power in some way. Why cannot we simply accept that money is not what makes us happy, connections do. Power is within the beholder, and if we took money out of the picture what would happen to those who use it for their power? This power would be lost, and the outcome would lead to a substantial increase in power of the mind. Those nerds, scientists, philosophers, and hardworking individuals would be able to afford happiness.

To be frank, we need to become a society, and being humble about these acknowledgments would be a good start. Cruelty and power will only get us so far, and if we can illuminate the minds of the people to focus on being attracted to the positive, taking responsibility, and using our powers for bettering our society we will not only save ourselves but also our planet and our dignity. Integrity is a value we need, and it has been taken over by reprisal. We are afraid to stand up and be heard and hold those who are in the wrong accountable for their actions, and it has made us become undignified. We are now an infestation of ourselves and happiness will only become affordable when money is no longer in the picture.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.