Humans logo

The Symptom Does Have A Solution

Why America Should End Its Obsession with Hollywood

By Hudson De Witt KellyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Symptom Does Have A Solution
Photo by Alice Donovan Rouse on Unsplash

I have to admit the entertainment industry is something I like many others found a sense of familial tribe with celebrities (mostly pop stars and tv personalities/stars) as they say when your lacking role models closer to home then of course you will reach out and touch someone else's hand but over the last five years (especially with covid 19) my admiration waned and after Sunday's Oscars fiasco it is now at a full-blown stop.

Violence is never the answer, and you see it so much the simmering words on comment sections and message boards how one can be pushed to want to do fight back after (you are called the n-word one to many times, the grammar police that berates every little detail because they are trying to cover up their own character flaws) when all you can do is stop, breathe and decide to either respond, remove the comment from your sight or block the person entirely, truth be told I decide on a case by case basis.

We no longer need to see celebrities as something bigger than the rest of us because they are not no matter how their sound bites may seem woke and against the establishment well on Sunday it was shown to us that they are flawed, emotional humans who get tired of being the brunt of jokes and hugged when they bring in 250 million at the box office; faking as if they like each other when it is apparent that they do not.

I myself was for the longest time a very defensive individual because I was tired of being seen as the small guy, so I surrounded myself with people who kids that saw my big mind and heart rather than my small frame. Even now I made it apparent to gain weight so that others would see that I was leading a healthy lifestyle instead of fretting over covid 19 and trying fasts to keep myself immune system healthy.

Something has happened to all of us since sitting in our homes for the last two years and we are starting to see it play out in front of us and it's no longer scripted it is now full-on display of anger, mistrust, familial animosity, loss of life and incomes and I don't believe Will and Chris is just an isolated incident because in cities all across America crime is reaching these very scary highs.

Two years ago, all you saw were these commercials that "we are all in this together." When that was never the case as people battled over toilet paper, discriminated against the vaccinated and the non-vaccinated, people making comments about why others decided to stay at home then return to work so all those words where just Madison Ave trying to sell Main Street another fallacy of false hope because the signs where there from the hospitals and how covid patients had been stuffed together in a game of "survival of the healthiest."

For myself I grasped on to the ones that I always knew had a sense of decency and Will Smith was to me a good person and still is until I catch glimpses of Red Table Talk and I begin to feel bad for the guy as all of those surrounding him don't really do much to lift him up unless he is starting in a movie and sooner or later after all the memes and comments are coming forth I would believe that begins to take a toll on you because I have had so many try to stomp on me and my outlet is to live by this motto from Whitney Houston "I can pay my own rent, pay my light bill, take care of my babies." Which translates to "You don't F***, Feed or Finance me."

Maybe it's time to realize that we do feed and finance celebrities, business owners, sports stars, heck even each other so instead of having a summer of provoked confrontation which I predict will peak by July we should take a step back and realize "the joke is not about what I am lacking but what I have and what I am about to obtain."

advice
Like

About the Creator

Hudson De Witt Kelly

I can recall finding this site maybe 5 years ago and knew that once I got a new computer/laptop that this would be the first site I ran too. I am an avid writer of short stories. I love autobiographical books on European Royal Families

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.