Humans logo

The Sun will Shine Again

For mothers and women everywhere struggling in this world

By Jordan Sophia ThomasPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My son holding his Winnie the pooh bear. This photo reminds me of the innocence of a child, but also a comfort they can find in small things.

As you hold your children tight in this world full of violence in chaos, as you try to find the rainbow after the storm of tears that has befell this country, I stand with you I pray with you and I hope you know that your not alone in the heaviness you carry.

Not too long ago we mourned children after yet another tragic shooting in Texas, all of the sudden the security we felt in our school system and in humanity just evaporated and now we are full of worry and woe. Already stressed about a collapsing economy in a pandemic where people are in fear for their health and the welfare of their family and loved ones near and far we now grieve children whose parents will now be planning funeral arrangements. We can hold our children close and realize that no matter how sad we feel, we are the lucky ones to have them close to our hearts still to provide them with warmth and comfort as they have filled our hearts with love and purpose.

To the mother whose heart is broken, you do not ache alone, you do not journey into the darkness alone. There is a rainbow out there for you, even when it seems there is none in sight, only the storm clouds and endless tears. After this darkness, the sun will shine again.

I don't offer false optimism or a pretend phantom strength, simply I am a voice that is reaching into the darkness often myself feeling blind and unable to see the light myself. I cry in the silence as I think of what all the mothers and fathers and teachers and families and friends must be feeling. The bereaved moments of anguish for where a moment they ache to hold their children and cannot, they remember the sounds of their children's echoes they can hear no longer. Calls to their children followed with silence and no reply. My heart breaks for you in ways that cannot be described. I wish I could heal your heart or provide words of comfort in your sadness, your completely justified anger. I wish I could provide the comfort of your child, make you feel their hearts beating again, give you the chance to wipe their tears again, hear their laughter.

Sadly, all I can do is try to help you make sense of it to listen; to show you the rainbow beyond this storm, to give you hope in the beauty of life beyond this one to assure you there is comfort and another place waiting for them; one where the horrors of this world will be forgotten. It is all I can believe to find the hope and strength to endure. It does not make you weak, it does not make you incapable, it is the hope in life itself when the outside evil forces start to create a waxing darkness. It is the beacon in the distance that holds our very brokenness into even the shreds and fragile pieces, it is what defines our strength.

I hope that you hear my voice as I write and sing the songs that give you comfort, for it is far more lulling than silence. I hope you can feel the tender hand of this stranger or imagine the welcoming shoulder for you to lean on. This is no easy time for a mother or father but you will endure as we have many tragedies before and as we continue to make sense of what evil can possess a person to do such monstrous acts. Let us reach into our hearts to find the good and not try to make sense of evil, but rather remember the good that still exists and extends itself to you.

Peace, love and hope to my aching families. My heart is with you in all the swelling of this sadness.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Sophia Thomas

25 year old artist, wife, mother & friend. A woman of the nomadic world & ever evolving nature of the world around me. I am an optimist sprung from a dark upbringing, hopeless romantic in a world that is continually doubting such things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.