Humans logo

The reality we live in...

A dive deep into the world of hatred we call ours

By Autumn Raine Moulton-PiercePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Destroy yourself and see who gives a damn...

I have always had something that just did not sit right with me in the world. Everyone is so damn rude and full of themselves. I just do not understand what is it that possess people to treat others like they are less. No one deserves that. I have always thought of myself as a pretty morally based woman. I see something that is wrong, I speak up. I do not sit in silence and simply watch. That is not very humane. That is the issue with the world, humanity. It seems like there is so much missing that no one actually cares to bring attention to it. That is what is wrong with this world. If you do not believe me, I will show you.

How many people were standing around when George Floyd had a knee in his throat after suffering a heart attack? How many people said something in the moment to try to stop what was happening? Well, if you don't know the answer; no one, instead they took out their phones and taped it. Real change comes with action. If no one has told you before, action speaks louder than words...much louder. The protesting is an amazing form of that, but why are we burning down businesses? Why are we answering violence with more violence? At some point, someone has to stop and think; maybe there is a better way. Maybe there are ways around the violence that will still get our voices heard. There are. Writing things like this is a great way. For months I have had "justice for George Floyd" and "black lives matter" written on the windows of my car. That alone is a form of protesting that is peaceful and takes no time in my day. I am protesting while I am driving around for work. People honk, when I drive by protests people cheer louder. There are so many ways that people just do not think of to get their voices heard. It is dire that we learn these different ways now, and not when it is too late.

How many of you believe there is some blame to be put on a sexual assault survivor? Most of you that do, will never admit it. Even I was blamed as an eleven year old girl. He was my youth pastor and my mothers fiance. But somehow I provoked him, me not even knowing what sex was. Most people just jump to the conclusion that if she wasn't wearing this, or wasn't seen doing that, that this would not have happened to her. However, most people do not understand the mindset of an abuser. Any abuser. Most abusers like it. They like the chase and the feeling of power and control, so they typically target those who they see as disposable or one who will go unnoticed; like a child or a female who is showing some skin on a night out. This world is just too quick to protect famous people or political persons from feeling the full consequences of their actions. There is never really justice served. It is always a he said she said, even if there is proof. Somehow, someway, they get away.

Our country has gone to complete shit in the past few years. Although things were not so great back in the day either, most people aren't even seeing the country we used to live in. Trump is the pinnacle of what our country has turned into. No one cares anymore. No one sees the point in trying to find a better system, a better way in the world. We are not free in this country, and we never have been. What happened to the passion and the art and the love in this country? We used to be considered the greatest country in the world, now people are wanting to leave, people who have had generations of their family living here, they want to leave. I am included in that group. We are tired of seeing our country tear itself apart because no one wants to try a better way. I know things are scary when they are new and you don't know how they will turn out. However, if you never try, you will never find out. There is always a better way, lets start trying to find a better way before we tear our entire country apart.

Until next time my friends <3

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.