Humans logo

The post covid normal will be like this!

as I predicted it to you

By LoukaliciousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
travel with facefashion in Amsterdam public transport

I have favorite people. They spice up my life. And two of them are established in 1970, yes that is 50 years ago. So they pass a big milestone earthday in the most surreal of all years since. So enough reason to celebrate but no way to actually plan the celebrations that fit the occasion. As with most get-togethers, it is simply not happening any time soon.

In their cases, we have decided that they switch it around for the time being. So they turn 51 this year and then 50 next year if by that time parties are possible again. Repeat this proces untill there is no longer need for it. Because these occasions deserve a good shindig. And don't tell me that that is not possible. My own mom has been 36 for two years in a row. A simple case of miscounting.

So that got me thinking about the new normal after this new normal. The surveys show that what we miss most is being able to dance and celebrate. I see the party peeps trying to provide online dance events and I can't seem to grasp the vibe of an online dance event. Although I found that dancing all around my house does provide in a need to feed that dancing hunger.

Honestly, trowing parties has been a lot more like hard work over the last years, resulting in killing my eagerness to join in. That is a result of me having easy access to venues where people love to host their celebrations. Hosting turns into working hard and that takes away the fun of any party for me. So I have been granted a mandatory break that actually is really good for the party spirit. I have actually started to miss a good get together.

My prediction for the post covid time that lies ahead. Cause this too shall pass eventually. First of all, I will catch up on all the hugging I am lacking now. I am a big hugger. And skin-hunger is real. I even avoid meeting up with people to not feel the overwhelming disappointment of a virtual hug. It just doesn't feel at all satisfying. The one thing I definitely can do without for the rest of my life is those three kisses with every hello and goodbye. It always feels a bit off to get so close to a strange person's face. I genuinely always found it too invasive but you just go along with traditions I guess.

I imagine that as soon as the world has kicked covid's ass my calendar will fill up with parties for any ol' reason. The 'we-have-crossed-the-street-party'. The 'Yay! it is Wednesday! party'.The 'blinked my eyes 987654 times party'. The 'gender revealed again' party. The 'oh, I found some beer' party. The 'absolutely not staying home' party. The 'thank you for stepping on my foot' party. I see so many possibilities. Let's not forget the countless do-overs for all the drive-by birthdays.

And I can't wait either. Please try and make me dislike the prospect of a party again. That goes to show you that there is a real thick silver lining to all this horrible mess: I did not realize how festive my life was before. And now I feel the need to celebrate life even more than I did. When I was a girl we used to trow a party for no reason at the drop of a hat. So ultimately life in the new new normal will be like coming home to me. And together with my favorite people, I can't wait to start this super festive and warm hugging new life we are all waiting for.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Loukalicious

Abidextrous and colorful is what I am. As a private tour guide, I love telling stories about interesting events and people. I started writing before I even learned about the alphabet. When I found out about it was thrilled. Time saver...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.