Humans logo

The Marine

A short story

By Amanda Rachelle McClurePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Not my image

One day I was sitting up at the local bar. It was just me and the bartender at the time since it was early afternoon. Her and I were having some much needed girl talk. A young man walks in and asks for an application. He decided to stay and fill it out since the manager was likely to be there some time soon. While he was waiting he began chatting with the bartender and I. That’s when I learned he was a Marine. I also learned that his reason for applying at the bar was that he had just moved to town, which explained why I’d never seen him before. The young Marine had a bandage on his hand and he explained that he was shot in his hand by an accidental discharge. I couldn’t imagine being shot! He decided he would come back another day to speak with the manager since it was taking longer than expected.

So a couple weeks go by and I had seen him again checking on his application, but we didn’t speak. Of course, I didn’t mention that he was a very attractive young man. A little too young for me since he’s only 21 but hey a girl can admire right? Plus what’s six years anyways? Nothing much comes from seeing him this time, except a smile on my face because damn this man could light up a room.

Later that week, on Friday, I went out to the bar per my usual plans. I hadn’t thought about the Marine since seeing him last. Of course that all changed when he walked in and sat down a few stools away from me. I should inform you now that an older friend of mine from the bar was sitting between us. A stool space between each of us. I guess he had already met her because he was talking to her about the last time they hung out. I wasn’t there with her so I didn’t jump into the conversation. I simply started talking to the bartender about the type of guys I tend to date, felons. The marine found our conversation interesting and jumped in. So the three of us, the marine, my friend, and I all began talking and getting to know each other. We began to buy rounds of shots. It was a great time. About two hours into our little party he asks me if I’ll dance with him to a Frank Sinatra song. Of course what girl doesn’t love dancing with a good looking man! Especially a Marine. He played Fly Me To The Moon and spun me around.

Then the three of us went out to his big old jacked up truck and went for a ride to the gas station down the street. Us ladies were to help him name his truck. To this day I can’t think of a name. It was on the tip of my tongue but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.

We spent the rest of the night talking and laughing together. We danced to a Johnny Cash song and rapped to Machine Gun Kelly. It was one of the best nights of my life, even if I didn’t get the chance to kiss the Marine.

Who knows maybe there will be more to this story when it’s all said and done.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Rachelle McClure

I’m a 27 yr old with Bipolar disorder. Here I will tell some of the stories I’ve experienced while struggling, but also some just fun uplifting stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.