Humans logo

The Make Up Artist

Short Story written by Nina E Dalin

By Jeannie AromeaPublished 4 years ago 28 min read
Like

CHAPTER 1

​Anja, is a Melbourne make up artist. She's headed to America to makeover fashion models for runway and magazine editorial shoots. Her first stops are LA, then San Diego and finally New York.

She's most excited about the San Diego runway show. She's hoping to bump into The Switchlights which would be at the show, and she's had a major crush on the bass guitarist for a while. And its been a dream to meet him.

"I'm so excited about this trip!" said Anja.

"Yes, it's the trip of a lifetime It's definitely what you need after splitting with Jason." answered her room mate, Rhonda, who was helping her pack. "You're so lucky that you get to see America and meet the Switch Lights."

"May be. I'm hoping to bump into them, and possibly be their makeup artist.

Anja and Rhonda were like best friends and sisters. Anja was the outgoing bubbly one with the high pitched voice, and Anja was the more serious womanly one with a sultry seductive voice. But they were both talented in their both ways. They met at acting school in Melbourne and attended modelling school together. They were in nearly every production and modelling show together when Anja was modelling and acting on the side when not working as a makeup artist. They had so much in common, that it was so easy for them to live together. They even had a cat called Squeak which they shared.

"So I'm all packed." said Anja.

"Fantastic!"

The following day, Rhonda drove Anja to the international airport. Anja caught a Delta flight to Los Angeles, where her first stop was. The flight was very long and Anja just took advantage of the time to watch movies, sleep and eat the meals. She also studied the make up designs she would be using on the actors at her first show. It was a theatre show at the Wiltern Theatre in L.A for Beauty and the Beast. She was very excited about being chosen as a make up artist for four shows, four nights in a row. It was a major career turn for her.

Anja arrived on set for the first night. The theatre was huge and it was overwhelming for Anja but it brought a huge smile upon her face. It felt magical. She saw all the crew on stage preparing the set on the show. And the actors behind the scenes. Anja walked through and met with the director Carlos.

"Hi Anja, I'll bring you here and we'll have you work on your first actor, the Henry. He will be playing The Beast.

"Hi Henry, let's sit you down on the chair, how are you?"

"Yes, amazing!"

"That's fantastic." Anja loved the vibrancy of the actors. It was really contagious.

She began applying makeup on Henry's face and copying her designs. After an hour he was beginning to look like a beast.

"There you go, can I take a photo for my portfolio?"

"Yes of course." said Henry.

Anja took a selfie with Henry and one doing make up on him.

She then worked on Belle, and the remaining actors. Another make up artist was helping her apply make up on all the extras.

The show was a success and Anja was very happy. Four days later Anja flew out of L.A to San Diego where Anja will be working on a much smaller show, a charity event. She would apply fashion make up and hair on models at an auction soiree. It was run by a famous band called The Switch Lights.

"I'm hoping to may be be their personal make up artist," she said to Rhonda on the phone.

​"Good for you. You should definitely offer them that role. How was Beauty And the Beast?"

"Amazing." said Anja.

"Wow. You're so lucky. I wish I could be you right now." said Rhonda

"Thanks. I miss you. replied Anja.

"I miss you too." said Anja.

CHAPTER 2

The following day it was the auction soiree which took place at a huge mansion and garden in San Diego and Anja arrived early to set up her makeup and hair station for the models.

"Hi!" said Mel the organiser.

"Hi Mel, we spoke via email." responded Anja.

"Yes, I'll bring you your first model. Then we'll go from there. You'll be working with other make up artists and stylists. We have a tight schedule." she explained.

Anja worked on her first model. She was very beautiful, tall, slim, tanned and exotic looking. An actress model you'd only see on TV on Days of Our Lives or The Young And The Restless. Anja made her look extremely glamorous with big curls and glamorous glittery eyes, and big glossy lips. and bronzed glowing skin.

The stylist walked in the room and gave the model some outfits to wear for the event. "You'll be wearing these three outfits for the runway show. their on auction so make sure you don't get them dirty and remove them right after." she said.

Anja helped the models fit into their dresses. and gave them some tape to help the dress hold up.

Finally Anja was on her last model. This model had to have an avante guarde makeup and hair look. It took a little longer to apply but Anja was finished in an hour. The show was almost beginning.

"Can I take a photo of your look for my portfolio?" asked Anja to the model.

"Yeah sure." The model answered happily accepting.

All the models lined up at the runway dressed up. The audience was watching and waiting. And the first model walked strutted down the catwalk and back. Anja took some photos. She was clapping too with the audience.

Mel the director approached her and said, 'Fantastic work Anja. I'd love to have you back for next years event."

"Thank you Mel." she replied modestly.

"Here's your cheque."

Mel walked away in a hurry to greet the other guests. Anja opened her cheque. It was for US$1000.

Anja stood by herself for a while watching the rest of the show. It was already evening and getting dim. Anja looked up at the mansion and noticed a handsome young man with brown hair staring at her. He approached Anja. "Hi, I was watching you from afar." the young man said.

"Really?" asked Anja.

"Yeah. You're beautiful." he said honestly.

Now Anja thought these Americans had a way with words. They weren't afraid to express their emotions.

"I'm Mike, Mike Mason."

"Hi Mike, pleased to meet you. They were staring into each others eyes as if it was love at first sight. There was chemistry. And at that moment, she began to imagine there was a real reason why she came to America. It was to meet her true love. Mike walked around with Anja and they picked at some sushi and ate together at a small round white elegant table.

"So, what are you doing here?" he asked.

"I'm a make up artist doing make up on models for a show. It just finished."

"Oh yeah, I sensed you were different. You're not like those other girls who are here. They're only here to hit on the band The Switchlights. I can sense you're a very giving person." He said.

Then he held Anjas hand. Sometimes people are wolves who appear in sheep's clothing. You're one of God's children, and I can sense christ within you.

"My sister's husband is in that band. He's the lead singer, John Goreman." said Mike.

"Are you the brother of John's wife?" asked Anja.

"Yeah." He smiled.

I'd love us to get to know each other more and keep in touch and possibly hang out, but in a couple days I'm actually going to a Jesus camp. I'll be teaching some youth some bible teachings."

"Wow, that's so wonderful. How old are you?" asked Anja. Mike calmed her and made her feel youthful and innocent. He had a peaceful energy.

"I'm twenty three. How old are you?"

"I'm twenty four but my birthday is in a few days. I'll be twenty five."

"Well happy birthday to you."

"Thanks!." Anja smiled." She realised Mike was making her more happier and forget about Jason and he could possibly be the answer to her prayers.

"Hey, I want to introduce you to my family. They're standing right at the top of the stairs."

"I would really love that." she said.

Mike held Anjas hand as if they were an item already and they walked up the stairs towards the mansion to meet Emily, Mike's sister, John, the lead singer of the Switch Lights as well as John's parents.

"Hi Emily, this is my new friend Anja, she's a make up artist from Melbourne."

"Anja was staring at John in awe. She hadn't been that close to a Switchlight member before. It felt euphoric. Emily was looking aloof at her. And didn't say a word. She just kept drinking her alcoholic beverage as if she had major anxiety.

"Anja's a makeup artist. She did make up for an event here today."

Wow... That's fantastic, said Emily sarcastically. Then she turned her head away and continued to drink and walked away abruptly, greeting a friend. "Oh darling aren't you an amazing stylist!" she said kissing her friends cheeks.

Anja raised her left brow.

"Don't worry about her." said Mike. " She's just really overprotective of me. She treats me more like I'm her son than her brother. We're ten years apart."

Anja nodded pretending to care. She just realised from her first impression of Emily Goreman, that she was a real witch bitch.

"Yeah there's eight of us kids. It's a big family.

"Wow, so what does your sister do, Mike?"

"She doesn't do anything all day. She just stays at home."

"Does she have kids?"

"No." said Mike.

Anja thought, 'no wonder she's an unhappy bitch who tries to put others down.'

"My other sister, she's a musician. That's how John and her met." explained Mike.

Anja had a fake smile, but thought, 'I don't give a fuck. I don't want to know more about this Emily.'

"Most of my family are artists. I'm the only non artist. I'm getting into teaching and business." Said Mike whilst he was still holding Anja's hand.

Anja smiled, she thought may be this guy was who she was waiting to be with for so long. May be she could try to put up with an evil sister in law.

But deep down Anja felt hurt and she was feeling awkward standing in front of a famous guy whilst chatting with her potential future husband. She had a fake smile on the whole time. Then John decided to leave and look for his wife. Not far away an older couple were standing together. They looked peaceful.

"Mike said, I want to introduce you to Jane and Mark. They are John's parents. I see them as my surrogate family too."

"Well, whoever is your family is my family," blurted out Anja.

Mark said, Yes you are definitely apart of our family. We invite you to our church this Sunday. I'm the pastor of the North Coast Church."

"Wow, I'll definitely come along." said Anja.

"Can I have a photo with all you guys. I'd like to keep this memory." asked Anja to the Goremans.

"Yeah sure Anja. They took a group photo together and one on ones with Anja and Mike. It made Anja believe that their relationship was already prospering.

​"Hey Mike, I'm going to Sea World tomorrow. Would you like to come along with me?" Asked Anja.

"I can't, actually. I have to prepare for that trip." said Mike making an excuse.

"Ok! No worries." answered Anja feeling disappointed. She hid her disappointment with a fake smile.

I'm going to watch the band Switchlight play, would you like to join me?" She asked Mike.

No, I've seen them play a gazillion times. I'm not really into it. But, you stay and enjoy yourself. It was lovely meeting you." Anja felt disappointed again. She wanted more one on one with Mike.

"Will I see you again?" She asked him.

"Yeah, add me on instagram. Here's my number too." he said. Anja smiled, Ok I will. And lets keep in touch until then."

Anja began to have thoughts that Mike and her would be distant penpals that would reunite and eventually be married. She imagined the perfect life as a wife and make up artist in San Diego.

Her fantasies were then interrupted by a girl who sat next to her. She was very outgoing and bubbly and full of energy and enthusiasm.

She began speaking to Anja, "I'm Jordan, I'm here for The Switchlights. I'm their biggest fan. Seriously!!" She said hyperventilating and cheering even though they weren't on stage yet.

Then Anja spoke calmly. "Really? I just met the main singer just not long ago."

Jordan continued getting excited, "Really??!! Just now? Wow!! I've met them like a hundred times. We're like friends now."

"Really?" said Anja very calmly just listening.

"Yeah! I even drew a picture of him and gave it to him."

"That's great." Anja responded, thinking, 'I think she's more of a crazed fan than anything'.

"So who was that guy you were with earlier? He was hot!" asked Jordan.

"He's John's brother in law." she said without any emotion.

"No way! You lucky girl. I wish I could have met him. I have met the Goreman parents though."

"Really? Lucky you."

The girl kept ratting on and bragging about her Switchlight experiences. She then admitted. "I'm in love with the lead singer, John. I've got posters all over my wall and my car even says The Switchlights on it. AND... look!" She then began to lift up her shirt and turned around to show Anja her sacrum. "I have a special tattoo representing The Switchlights. Do you like?"

Anja studied it. It was of a star and a stripe. Anja made a sarcastic face and thought, 'talk about psycho fan.' Anja smiled fakely, coughed, and said "Yeah it's nice." Then she watched as the girl began taking photos of the band as they entered the stage. Anja just clapped. And then took her camera out to take a few snaps. Jordan took a selfie photo with Anja. "Say cheese." Anja faked a smile.

At that moment Anja received a text message from Mike. "Sorry I left so hastily, enjoy the rest of the night and have a safe trip. Love Mike".

'Aw he cares,' thought Anja. She smiled happily. She sent a message back quickly. "Thank you Mike, I'm having a great time. It was lovely meeting you. You're so kind and I hope to see you again soon. Keep in touch!"

It was getting quite late and the band finished their last song Dare You To Groove. Anja was really just hoping to meet her crush, the band's bass guitarist, Nathaniel. But, where was he? Then all of a sudden she saw a shadow of him and saw him walking with a smaller woman about his age putting his arm around her. She looked like she could be his wife. So Anja didn't dare approach. She decided to mingle with the other guests at the auction table. Then one of the band members approached her. He was tall, and skinny and had a friendly energy. "Hi! I'm Stew. I noticed you."

"Really?" said Anja.

"Yeah, you've been busy all day and night here. Thanks for your kind help. Without you the models wouldn't be made up. So where are you from? I notice a slight accent." He said.

"Melbourne, Australia." Said Anja.

"Australia!" Shouted Stew.

Then he yelled out to everybody, "Hey guys this is my friend Anja. She's come ALL the way from Australia!" Then he hugged Anja. This made Anja very cheery. She felt like she belonged. So she asked him the question she wanted to ask the band. "So Stew, I'm a make up artist, and I'm hoping you guys are looking for a personal make up artist. If you need me as your make up artist here's my card." Anja offered.

Stew took Anja's card. "Thanks Anja, what a lovely thought!" Then he licked his lips and looked up. "But we usually don't use make up artists, may be for rare occasions like photo shoots. But keep trying. See ya!" Then he walked off very quickly as if he had ADHD.

Anja checked the time on her phone. It was getting late. She headed towards the mansion to rest inside. And she sat on the lounge chairs. No one was there. She wanted to call Rhonda. She was missing home, "Hi this is Rhonda, you've reached me when I'm away leave a message."

"Hi Rhonda just thinking of you, I'm hoping everything is great at home in Aberfeldie. Keep me posted about you and Squeak." Then she hung up the phone, and was about to send a text message. At that moment somebody walked in the room. Anja turned to face them. It startled her. The room was dark but she saw who it was and it surprised her. It was John, the lead singer of The Switchlights.

"Can I sit here?" He asked.

"Yeah." she said quietly. John sat beside her on the couch. There was pure silence between them. Anja felt peaceful though, she didn't know what to say to him. But there was something so fatherly about him and a presence that made her melancholy that made her blurt out, I broke up with my boyfriend before coming here." It was as if she had no choice but to be honest.

"Really, I'm sorry to hear that." he said showing his sympathy. Then he put his arm around Anja.

"How did you like our show?" He asked her.

Then she stared into his big doe blue eyes. They were amazing. And she couldn't look away. She thought. 'Is this a dream? What's he doing here?'

"I really liked your show."

"So you're a make up artist." He asked.

"Yeah, I am. I came to America to work on several shows. May be I can do your make up one day."

He laughed and smiled." You want to do MY make up? I don't wear make up."

Anja answered. "I apply make up on male actors and performers. I was only asking.

"Right. Well, give me your card and we'll call you if we need you for a make up job."

Anja gave John her business card and he slipped it in his pocket. John was staring into Anja's eyes deeply for a long time. It was like a fantasy. It was like staring into Jason's eyes. John still had his arm around her. Mike had rejected her date. Was John the one for her? His shirt smelt nice like clean laundry and he had a strong touch, very sexy. Anja wanted to kiss him. Then it happened. He moved towards her and kissed her lips. It was a soft sensual kiss. It lasted for eternity even though it was for several seconds. John's wife walked in the room. She stood and stared. The two looked at her and didn't say anything. Emily walked off hastily, and John chased after her. Anja was then left by herself in the mansion lounge room. She thought, 'Oh my god what just happened?'

Anja looked at her phone to find a number for a cab to take her back to her hotel. At that moment, John's parent's walked in. "Hi Anja, are you ok? We heard what happened and can offer you a lift home."

Anja nodded. "I need to grab my things too. My make up case is still in one of the rooms of the mansion."

The Goremans retrieved Anja's belongings and drove her back to her hotel which was just by the surf beach.

"So Anja, will you be coming to the event tomorrow morning."

What event?"

"There's a surf competition by the beach. It's also run by the Switchlights. We're inviting you."

"Ok, I'll be there." She said.

CHAPTER 3

The following morning Anja at the buffet table in the hotel dining room. She was filling her plate with pancakes and pieces of fruit when she noticed a familiar face she saw at the party. It was Tom Currin, the surfer. She tried to make conversation with him, but he was pretty cool with her like every surfy on the planet. "Well, see you at the beach."

"See ya." she responded.

Anja finished her pancakes, with fruit and juice, breakfast fit for a queen. Then Anja headed down to the beach with her beach clothes on, walking down the ramp. Lo and behold who does she bump into, none other than Emily Goreman, the witch bitch herself. So Anja decides to ignore her, but Emily sees Anja and abruptly chases her.

"Oh, it's you! Listen, stay away from my brother. He has a girlfriend. And steer clear from my husband. Goodbye!" She said finishing her statement with high pitched sarcasm.

Anja felt upset and like crying. She continued to walk off with tears in her eyes but felt partially angry.

San Diego turned out to be a trip full of drama and she couldn't wait for her last trip in New York City where she'll be celebrating her birthday.

"I hate San Diego." she said under her tongue. I'll never set foot here again. Mike Mason lied to me. That's why he rejected that date." Then Anja checked his myspace on her phone. He had photos of him embracing a girl with short hair. "Grrr, I'm going to sea world."

then Anja stood up and left the beach. As she was heading towards the ramp she bumped into the only person she was hoping to meet on the trip, none other than Nathaniel the bass guitarist. He was holding his surf board and he looked sexier than ever with his muscular body and tanned skin.

"Wow...she murmured under her breath. Nathaniel just smiled. Would you like a photo? he offered generously.

"Yes, of course!." she was beginning to act like a fan girl. And it felt good. It made Anja smile so much. And Nathaniel and her hugged. He felt more like a brother than a crush now. Then she headed back to her hotel room in a cheery mood to prepare for her day to Sea World. Then pack and catch a flight to New York City the following morning.

Anja arrived to New York City after a short connection flight from L.A. She landed and was picked up by a shuttle service. She was the first one to hop on board. It was called Go Shuttles. The driver was a slim African American man with golden cat eyes. She'd never seen such a handsome man before. He had the most beautiful long eyelashes. Anja was waiting in the back seat and she watched as the handsome stud was calmly eating his lunch.

"So, are you here on vacation?" he asked. Yes, and no. Mostly for work but I have a day to celebrate my birthday too."

He looked into her eyes with his exotic ones and grinned with his pearly whites. "Oh, well happy birthday."

"Thank you!"

You're welcome." Then he began packing her suitcase into the go shuttle bus.

"So, your accent sounds like you're from London, England. Where are you from?"

"Melbourne."

"Oh, nice, I have a cousin who lives there."

"Oh wow, really?"

"Yeah." More people approached the van and entered sitting in the back seat.

"Oh, wait." Anja says. "I need my drink bottle."

The friendly kind Go shuttle bus driver shows his care and patience and says, "No problems, I'll go grab it out for you. How about you sit in the front with me so we can chat some more." he says.

Anja was feeling the vibe between the two of them and she got excited and smiled, "Yeah I'd love that!"

"Great, so where else did you go?" he asked showing interest.

" I just came in from san Diego and before that L.A."

"How'd you like those places?" He asked showing much intrigue.

"I loved L.A, but I didn't have much fondness over San Diego."

"Aw, why's that?" he said. Then he put his jumper in between Anja and him and Anja watched him as he drove. She looked as his every move and felt his energies. "I went to an event working there as a make up artist, and there was this woman there that hated me. Her husband liked me though. I think she was jealous."

Mr Go Shuttle started smiling, and speaking with his New York Queens or Harlem accent and passion , "She was jealous of YOU because you're a make up artist!. Hahaha. You're better than her. She does nothing." he said."

"Anja smiled feeling better about herself.

"Are you feeling cold? You can wear my jumper?" he asked.

"Yeah thank you." Anja put his jumper on.

Mr Go Shuttle stopped at one of his stops, dropping off his first passengers at their location. Mr Go Shuttle ran across the road with the suitcases whilst the passengers were waiting at the stop light. And dropped them off and ran back and jumped in. It was as if he wanted Anja to see his magical skills in dodging traffic. "See these tourists don't know how to do it, they're afraid of New York traffic, but I'm used to it." He said smiling with enthusiasm. He really loved his job. Anja began having a crush on him. He then drove off to their next destination. They drove across a bridge. "This is the Brooklyn Bridge where Angelina Jolie jumped off in the movie Salt, he said. Anja kept smiling in awe. She was feeling the excitement and the fantasies of such an amazing city and Mr Go Shuttle was creating it for her.

"See that area over there, that's Queens New York, that's where I'm from."

"Oh wow."

Then a song came on the radio, "New York concrete jungle where dreams are made of there's nothing we can't do..."

"Oh I love this song!" said Anja. I hear this all the time. I went to a Jay Z concert recently."

"Really, because he's from Harlem, where my cousin is originally from. My cousin's a music producer."

The excitement was filling in the car and Anja was bobbing up and down and lifting her arms up and dancing. Mr Go Shuttle was smiling and laughing. He was really cheering her up. "I like you." he said. "I hope we keep in touch." Then it was Anja's stop. She was in front her hotel. Anja didn't answer but she heard Rhonda's voice inside of her head. " Do it, accept his offer."

Mr Go Shuttle then said, "I hope to see you again." Then Anja smiled and answered, "I want that too. "Here's my card." He showed his pearly whites again, took her card and they stared into each eyes. "I don't know your name." she said.

"It's Jaye. Mr Go Shuttle exited the van and brought Anja's luggage to the hotel. "See ya later!" She said smiling.

"I'll call you", he said very happily. Have a wonderful work holiday."

Anja checked into her hotel and slumped down on her hotel bed. The room was large and the bed was a queen sized bed. She felt very comfortable. She began to have fantasies about her and Mr go Shuttle, or now as she knew him, Jaye. "Once you go black you don't go back." she said aloud to herself then began to dance in her room sexy style then did a bend back walk over. "Wow, I haven't done one of those in like forever. Jaye must...like give me so much inspiration."

All this exercise made Anja hungry, she grabbed her bag and skipped downstairs to check out the restaurants in the streets. At the lobby, she grabbed a map and was about to head towards the exit. And who did she bump into? None other than the actor Wentworth Miller himself. It was who Anja was hoping to also meet, but in L.A. She just stared at him, smiled and said "Hi, I'm Anja."

"Hi Anja, pleased to meet you. I loved you on your show. I think you're a fantastic actor. She said gushing. I'm a practicing actor myself, well also a make up artist." she said. "I'm here for a photo shoot."

"Are you?" he said. Then he took out a photo of himself, wrote something on it and gave it to Anja and said, "Thanks for watching, then walked off meeting a man. they stood side by side together very closely. Anja watched him walk out the front doors. She wanted to follow him but decided not to.

Anja thought. "Oh my god...I just met Wentworth Miller! Pity I didn't have heart to heart with him, which I hoped I would. Oh well..." Then she read her note from him. It said, "You're so talented Anja. Keep shining, and smiling. Wentworth Miller. Anja smiled then skipped out the front door to find somewhere to eat. Anja found a Japanese sushi restaurant and sat inside. She watched as the table went round but decided for takeaway instead. Anja chose a crab sushi roll and a bottle of water, then headed back to her hotel to chill out on her bed.

On the walk back to her hotel she bumped into Jaye. He was in his Go Shuttle with a bunch of passengers and he looked hotter than ever. "Hey, Anja!"

"Oh hi Jaye! Nice seeing you again!"

"Same to you, Anja. Let's go out some time. I'll call you later so we can set a date."

Anja smiled and yelled out. "That'll be nice. Seeya! " Then waved and walked away with her lunch. "Oh Mr Go Shuttle." she said out aloud whilst walking through the crowd.

When Anja reached her hotel room she lay on her bed to eat her lunch and prepare for shoot for the following day. At that moment she received a text message. She thought it could be from Mr go Shuttle, but to her surprise it was from somebody unexpected. "How are you? -John".

CHAPTER 5

Anja stared at the message for ages, hypnotised as if tiny needles were pricking at her brain. She was now in meditation mode. She was sitting there not doing anything, just having a brain orgasm. She lay down lifeless, just seeing images and feeling feelings. Anja blinked, twice. And breathed deeply in and out. But she felt tingly all over. Her energy was sucked like a vaccuum from those three words. How...are...you? She decided not to answer it, not yet anyways, quickly sat up, regained her energies and kept eating, and focusing on her designs for the photoshoot.

Anja had finished eating couldn't resist answering the message. She didn't know what to write. So she thought long and hard. She wanted to write something positive. "I'm feeling fantastic thank you. My birthday is tomorrow."

Not long after there was a response."Well, Happy birthday. x How old will you be?"

"25" Anja wrote. "How old are you, John?"

"I'm 34. Enjoy the fire works tomorrow. And congrats."

Anja smiled. She was still feeling warm and tingly and happy she made a new friend. He seemed normal to her even though he appeared outgoing on stage, he was pretty down to Earth in reality. Anja down down and felt him beside her then rested her eyes.

The following morning she awoke, it was 5am and her alarm went off. It was the 4th of July and Anja headed into the shower and straight to central park where she would be making over 10 different models for an editorial shoot and 4th of July parade.

The day went so quickly. Anja was then interviewed at the end by Entertainment Tonight. "You did such an amazing job on the models, Anja, how do you feel?," asked the interviewer."

"Thank you. I feel great. And they look amazing. I love New York."

"We love you too Anja. We'd love to have you back here."

Thanks!" smiled and exclaimed Anja.

Then Anja took photos with the models and headed off back to her hotel to get ready for the firework celebrations. At that moment Mr Jaye Go Shuttle called her.

"Hey Anja, can I pick you up tonight to see the fireworks?"

"Yeah I'd love that."

"Happy birthday by the way." he said in his sexy New Yorkan accent.

"Thank you Jaye! I hope you got me something."

"As a matter of fact I did."

"What is it?"

"It's a surprise."

"I can't wait!" said Anja. Then Jaye laughed.

Anja dressed up with a dress she had borrowed from the shoot. It was a white cocktail dress with sparkles on it. Anja looked very elegant, sexy and glamorous in it. She did her own make up and applied big curls in her. The she looked in the mirror and began to pose and pout. So Anja took her camera out and took photos of herself. Then she received a text. It was from Jaye. "I'm downstairs."

It was time to go to the fireworks. Jaye and Anja stood watching the fireworks in front of the water across from the bridge. It was a spectacular scene. "Happy birthday Anja." said Jaye handing her a small gift. It was a small box wrapped in a ribbon.

Anja opened it. She gasped. "My turtle ring, but how?! Where'd you find it?"

"It was in the car. You left it there." he said smiling.

Then she smiled and kissed him on the lips.

And he slipped it on her finger.

​THE END

​WRITTEN BY NINA E DALIN All rights reserved ​©

literature
Like

About the Creator

Jeannie Aromea

Hi I'm an author, poet, singer songwriter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.