Humans logo

The Letter

Important Contents Enclosed

By H KaePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Most people don’t deserve authenticity. Simply, they don’t desire it. Those who desire peace deserve peace. Those who desire ill-will deserve ill-will. Many people desire polished, revised relationships that are converted into art and literature to be quickly consumed and rarely revisited.

Filters, deep fakes, edits, emojis, all of the ways that so many of our pores are filled, mistakes are edited and uniqueness is drowned out by a sea of robots without desire, fevers and aches that will readily replace partnerships in this century.

That is why sometimes I wonder, beyond the many other reasons I find myself pondering this very topic — what happens after we die?

Truly, beside my belief that we all enter paradise at some point in “time”, what happens after paradise? Well, The Divine is eternal. So, it is at some point that paradise must come to a halt. The party does not go on. So then what… complete oblivion? Returning to the source of All only to be resourced and outsourced?

I tried for a long time in my teens to come to this answer. I am still asking the same questions. What I battle with most often is that no one I know asks these questions. At least not aloud. They don’t mingle with the opportunity to be surprised by their own thoughts. How dreary their lives must be.

So, as “time” moves, I find more comfort in my imagination.

And the only other things that have satiated my desires are two-fold: knowledge of self and money.

That is why enclosed you will find contents that will be the only means to liberate you. First, the object of my utmost desire: a little black notebook.

This little black book is empty right now because you have yet to know yourself. You see, I have found that empty pages whisper to us quietly when no one else is around. They call us to claim them with who we are. They desire to be filled as we do. All things desire to be desired. And so this empty-paged little black notebook will be a companion to you in the moments you feel that you are falling. You will save yourself time and time again.

I have little notebooks of all colors: black, taupe, maroon and teal. They all represent the different phases of my transmutation from a woman with no bearing on this world to a woman who stands before you able to offer you these methods of escape from a culture attempting to consume you.

In the envelope, you will find money in the amount of $20,000. This money will also serve to liberate you. It will unburden you from the ego-shattering act of having to ask to borrow money from friend and institution. It will cover you with a blanket of security not unlike that of your childhood. It will give you peace of mind that is fit only for the sages. Money, of course, is not love and it is not happiness. Money is the avenue and the vehicle.

Though, people tend to need too much. People deeply need to be validated and it’s absolutely exhausting being around people who value your opinion above their own, isn’t it?

Always value your own opinion of your self above all others’ opinions of you. That is self-love, my dear.

And to the self-imposed question from your last letter of why you feel so greatly misunderstood, I’ll leave you with a quote from my chosen great-grandfather, Ralph Waldo Emerson:

“To be great is to be misunderstood.”

And in that case, I am misunderstood and you are misunderstood. And that building we’ve architected, we have found each other, loved each other and understood each other.

With all my love,

Me

literature
Like

About the Creator

H Kae

storyteller. student of life. always wondering. never wandering.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.