Humans logo

The Kind Man

A moment

By L.A. Kirchheimer Published 4 years ago 2 min read
2
The Kind Man
Photo by Dan Edge on Unsplash

I went to get the emissons tested for my car today. There were long lines, I had a million things to do, it was a standard Monday and this was just one more thing that needed to be checked off my list. I waited in line behind an older man in a red convertable, I was four cars away from it being my turn. I sat listening to some generic music playing on the radio, nothing upbeat or inspiring, just standard background noise on this cool, overcast day.

As I waited, I watched the man conducting the emissions tests. He was talking to the gentleman who's car he working on as he asked him to step out of the car and wait on an orange X. The attendant looked very animated. I couldn't tell if he was angry and yelling at the other man or just very passionate about what he was talking about. When he gently placed a hand on the other man's arm, I assumed they were having a lively discussion and this made me smile. The customer left, and I watched another interaction with the next customer trying to deciper this man's emotional place. The man in front of me put on his mask, ready for his turn. He was taken care of quickly and on his way.

It was my turn, the gentleman guided me to where I needed to pull my car. He kindly asked me how I was doing today, he was very friendly when he asked for my milage, and addressed me as young lady when I was asked to get out of my car. Here was a man, in the middle of an over cast day, on a Monday, in the cold, at an Emissions testing facility, and with every single person he interacted with he was happy, pleasant, and positive. I smiled, even though I was wearing a mask and I asked him, are you always this positive and happy? You must really love your job or people or something. He simply said, "I've always been this way. I don't have time to be sad and all that stuff."

Wow. During a pandemic when the number of Covid-19 cases, anxiety, depression and stress are rising, in a time where tensions are high and there is a level of uncertainty, this man embodied the kindness we needed. I felt happier and calmer just speaking with him for a few moments at the facility today. It did not matter that I was running an errand or doing a task, what mattered was this man showed every person he talked to a level of kindness and care that we all need right now. He wasn't a doctor, a lawyer, or any kind of prestegious big shot. He was a kind man at work, doing a needed job, out in the cold, on a blah Monday making everyone's day a little bit better.

humanity
2

About the Creator

L.A. Kirchheimer

L.A. Kirchheimer is an author, Licensed massage therapist, mother, wife, friend, entrepreneur, and a creative that strives to make a difference in the world. Her works and events can be found at LAKirchheimer.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.