Humans logo

The Happiness of Virtual World.

This post is based on a thorough examination of how social media impacts our lives and how it makes us happier.

By Ali AkbarPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
photo by Tim Marshall from unsplash

In real life people don't tell each other wow you're so beautiful great makeup whereas on social media you instantly get comments and reactions so you think to yourself since they liked it

it must be okay I can do this all day I like to post pretty things because I think they're nice to look at they might make someone pause for a moment and think that's pretty

it catches your attention and makes you want to come back and see what I’m up to the feeling I get when I take the photos is a feeling of satisfaction of saying I made something beautiful my makeup looks nice

I feel good it gives me a boost and makes me feel really good kind of satisfied we live in a global village half of humanity is online everyone can put themselves on display on Facebook Instagram snapchat or tick tock through social media

we flaunt our lives and judge the lives of others in this ideal world bodies are perfectly shaped hobbies are exciting love stories have happy endings and holidays are perfect but is this virtual happiness an accurate depiction of reality hidden behind these perfect lives

There is often suffering addiction depression and even suicide social media has revolutionized our lives from young to old my name's Maria I’m 40 years old I have four children between 1 and 10 years old I try to balance my life between being a mother

my work and my Instagram account I follow accounts that match my interests mostly about family activities for kids cooking and decoration it's a kind of happy place for me something that takes me out of my everyday life

can you get back in there that's good great Anna just like that is perfect look we'll post this one it's fun isn't it is mom sending pictures of us look how nice this one is look at the pictures of Anna how the colors are matching there

Since signing up five years ago Maria Street has been sharing her private life with everyone including complete strangers

She has already shared one thousand photos look we're going to do a story with the little birds it's an account about her everyday life

but without any flaws or low points I’m sharing these happy moments of my life so that I can revisit my Instagram 20 years from now as an old lady and say to myself see you had a nice life it was fun I think I spent a lot of time with my children

And that's what I’d like to remember but then again I often think that from the outside there's also a very self-centered aspect to it

I don't kid myself about that I know this is me saying look at me look at my life showing you'll take a snapshot because you're both so cute look at me Raphael social media has turned us all into brand ambassadors of happiness and beautiful moments

Instagram able propaganda can you look at me oh that's cute there you go I like posting these little moments and share them with others it sounds a bit cheesy but it's true these are my little moments of joy throughout the day

Even if they might not be representative of a 24-hour day with four children in a small apartment in that sense it's a bit of false advertising

I’ll edit this one a bit social media reinforces this idea of a society where people are consumed with the pursuit of happiness it's a kind of tyranny of happiness on display

Basically this happiness algorithm telling you that you have to succeed at all costs is reinforced and even created by social media

so when I post a photo of me on vacation with my kids of course I’m only showing the moment when we're all fine not mentioning the fight I had with my partner moments

before the photo was taken or that my kids were crying shortly after so little by little we're doing the same thing advertising has always tried to do namely to spark some desire in another person

To Be Continued....

friendshipsocial media
Like

About the Creator

Ali Akbar

Researcher & Analyst and Content Creator at Self-Employment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.