Humans logo

The Gift that Keeps on Giving

Using Music through Ukulele to Touch Countless Lives

By H. L. "Scooter" Ward, Jr.Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Gift that Keeps on Giving
Photo by Samuel Ramos on Unsplash

If you told me five years ago that I would one day lead two ukulele groups, I would not have believed you. I had only started playing the ukulele around December 2015. It started when I was visiting family and my sister let me play her guitar. I had not played since college, and the strings really hurt my hand. I thought to myself, “I need to find a nylon stringed guitar.” I eventually landed on a concert ukulele and purchased a blemished one I found on the internet at a discounted price. I taught myself and took to the instrument rather quickly. So thankful for the opportunity and gift of music, I had to pass it on and the groups were born. While there are many other facets of this journey, which were born out of a lean period of waiting between jobs and walking alongside my mother through what would be her two cancer battles, this one thing stands out: music touches the human spirit and brings people together for a greater purpose. This little musical instrument has been a good thing, which God used exponentially to encourage many people, especially me, through difficult times.

In the fall of 2016, I began offering free ukulele lessons for adults in our community. My local church was so gracious to offer the meeting space. Once the news spread, several folks joined and the Community Ukes group was born. I offered the lessons with the intent to perform at our local memory care and assisted living facilities. It was an idea that caught on quickly and more members joined as we performed and shared our musical ministry to those forgotten in the nursing homes.

Every month, we visit the facilities to perform well-known songs both secular and religious. It is so rewarding to see the contagious joy shared from the players to the residents—many of whom do not even know their names or what year it is. When we begin singing familiar songs and playing them on the ukulele, something magical happens. Those sweet old souls come to life and begin singing, clapping, and dancing with us. It is so precious to behold.

I quickly realized how special this was—not only for the recipients in the facilities, but also for those within our merry band of players. Over the last four years, the group has swelled in size with visiting snowbirds and others entering retirement. More than 100 folks have cycled through our group since its inception, but we average about 15-20 players at any given time. As we continued meeting to rehearse and perform, I began to notice that several of the players that joined us had recently dealt with a loss of spouse, parent, and/or child. It became a way for those grieving to get emotionally “unstuck” and move forward with a sense of purpose to serve a greater need. I always strive to keep it fun, upbeat, and positive to allow space for folks to focus their minds on something happy and good.

Three years ago, I started another group concurrently with the adult group aimed at third through eighth graders, called the Community Ukesters. The group name was a play on the words: ukes (short for ukuleles) and youngsters. I recall how tough the transition from elementary to middle school was for me, and I wanted a positive place to encourage and connect kids who otherwise might not fit into another group at school. The adults fell in love with the idea and many of them from the community and my church "bankrolled" the kids' group, providing necessary funds for me to offer ukuleles and tuners to the kids who could not otherwise afford them. The kids were assigned to perform for the memory care unit of another local nursing home.

The groups have thrived and periodically they combine to play for special community events honoring veterans or entertaining for the holidays. Five generations are represented when the groups combine. Last year, we had to shift from in-person rehearsals to online rehearsals, which created some unique challenges. Although we kept the groups together, the area nursing homes would not allow us in perform due to coronavirus restrictions.

After two months, I began reaching out to the facilities to see what creative avenues we might consider to safely connect and encourage the residents. While the age group at the nursing homes was considered at-risk for COVID, I knew the emotional impact of isolation was another huge risk factor. I began to proactively reach out to leadership/regional directors of the two nursing homes to express these concerns and seek solutions we could safely manage. The process started in April and three months later we were allowed to begin performing outside of one facility with limited players in masks and socially distanced. It was like a shot in the arm for many of the resident, because they had not been allowed outside the care facilities beyond necessary medical appointments. We have continued to go ever since July 2020, and each time it lifts the spirits of all, including the staff and nurses. It is something I hope to continue as long as I see the benefits of it blessing both the participants and the recipients.

I am now getting more calls from nursing homes in our county and adjacent counties. I am in the process of determining how I might implement a training plan to raise up more ukulele teachers who can start doing the same thing in their communities. While I may not be sure if I am doing the right thing at a given time, when I am in those places and see those faces light up, I know I am doing what I was created to do! I look forward to seeing what is in store for the future and pray God will use us all to bless others with the gift of music.

humanity
1

About the Creator

H. L. "Scooter" Ward, Jr.

Dr. Ward is a decorated combat veteran and professional musician who loves God and loves people, especially his cherished bride of 20+ years. He enjoys swimming, reading, and making music any chance he gets.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.