Humans logo

The Diary of An Young Black Girl

A Young Black Girl's Journal

By Janay EaleyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
A young black girl puts a gold crown on her head.

My name is Janay Tiffany Ealey and I am an eighteen-year-old young black girl who is on her way into the real world who is transitioning into adulthood. My childhood and teenage years have flown by so quickly in my lifetime. The days of my youth have vanished and I don't know how to feel about it. Being a young black girl in this world is pretty terrifying. Moving into the real world means that I have to do everything in my power to stay alive and be alert because the real world can be dangerous at times. You can't trust anyone in the real world because people are capable of doing the most sinister and devious things. I can end up losing my life over a man that I am dating and he has this crazy ex-girlfriend who has been stalking ever since he broke up with and she ends up following me to where I work and she decides to kill me. Things like this can happen and they've already had. I can let anyone into my life and they can be the reason why I won't be able to live it anymore and because of the color of my skin and the gender that I am, there will be so many conflicts that I will face when I become a woman. That's just how I feel. I am a young black girl who grew up in a domestic violence home and was given life from parents who got married when they were young. I am a young black girl who had a mother who was a foster kid and met a man when she was young and that changed her life forever. There are so many young black girls such as me that might have experienced the same tragic events as me. Becoming a woman will be one of the hardest things that I will have to undergo and I understand when a boy becomes a man, it may be much harder because society expects more from a man than a woman but for a woman, it is so much different! Young black girls are more than likely to be overlooked and treated as non-factors in society and are stereotyped so much in this world. I am not the stereotypical young black girl. I am a young black girl who believes a woman (not just a woman but every single human being that is on this planet) should have morals as a person. It is important to have morals because it helps create the behavioral foundation that every human being has. I am a young black girl who other young black girls can learn so much from because I set an example of what a young black girl should be. I think the problem is that these young black girls look to the wrong black women in their lives. They are exposed to the wrong kinds of women in this world. The examples of black women that these young black girls should be seeing as role models are Serena Williams, Michelle Obama, Allyson Felix, Gabrielle Union, Issa Rae, Ava DuVernay, Misty Copeland, Cleo Wade, Cori "Coco" Gauff, and Ibtihaj Muhammad. Not black women like Sukihana and Megan Thee Stallion. When human beings have positive influences in their lives, they understand the power of relationships, connection, and engaging with the world openly. Examples of positive influences other than people are ordinary things such as listening to music, singing, cleaning your living space, acting interested in a conversation, giving people the benefit of the doubt, practicing mediation, and laughter. This will conclude my diary entry of a young black girl even though it focuses on two topics instead of just one.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Janay Ealey

Greetings, my fellow readers!

Writer.

Social Media Manager.

Student.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Janay Ealey is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.