Humans logo

The Dance Under The Stars

The night never sleeps

By Madison BuschPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

I just got done with work when I received a text. I looked down at my phone and it was from Ryan. He was asking if I was doing anything tonight. I told him no and if he wanted to he can come over for a drink. I packed up my things and left to go home. I was doing my hair when the doorbell rang, Noni was barking like a maniac. I opened the door and Ryan was standing in the doorway. I let him in and poured him a drink. We sat at the table drinking White Russians and talking. He asked if I wanted to go for a drive. We only had half a drink so I felt comfortable with him driving, I said yes. I told him I would need a minute to get ready. I walked down the hall to my bedroom. I picked up the black tube of lipstick off the vanity and applied it to my lips. Noni jumped up on the bed. She knew I was getting ready to leave. I walked over to the bed and gave her a kiss on the head. I grabbed my purse and walked out of the room. Ryan was waiting at the front door for me, he opened the door and led me to his bright red Jeep. He opened the car door and asked me where I wanted to go. I was not sure as to how to respond. He started the car and pulled out of the driveway.

We drove down to the beach. He got out of the car and opened my door. We walked down to the beach and were sitting in the sand. Watching the waves come crashing back and forth. It was beautiful, I wish I could come to the beach more often. I know Noni would love it if I could bring her down here more. I was stuck in a daydream until he stood up and grabbed my hand. I stood up wondering what he was wanting to do. He held my hands and that is when it began. We danced, the stars gleaming while time moved slower and slower. It felt like we were dancing for a lifetime. Then we stopped: watching the sunrise above us. He looked me in the eyes and kissed me. I could not believe this was happening. We started to walk back to his Jeep, leaving footprints in the sand. I opened the door and sat in the seat. Waiting to see where we were going to go next.

We were driving down the highway, wind flowing through my Auburn hair. We arrived at the Sunny Side Up diner. The Yellow neon sign shining brightly. We walked in and sat in a booth. The waitress came up to our table and asked for our drink order. We both ordered a Coffee. She came back with two hot cups of coffee and placed them on the table. I reached over and grabbed 2 creamers and 3 sugars. The same way I have drunk my coffee for years. He just drank his black. We talked for a while until the waitress came back for our food order. I ordered a cheese omelet while he ordered a slinger. We talked even more until we received our food. I savored each bite. He paid the bill and drove me home. He walked me to my doorstep and kissed me again. I got my keys out of my purse and unlocked the door. Noni was there to greet me. Wagging her tail in excitement. I set my stuff down on the kitchen counter and went to my room. Then I woke up, it was all just a dream.

love
4

About the Creator

Madison Busch

Just a young writer trying to make the most out of life.

Instagram: maddie.busch26

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristee Lederle2 years ago

    You have such an amazing voice! I can't wait to read more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.