Humans logo

The Cost for Freedom

Freedom is the cost

By thewanderingseekerPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

I reach for freedom, I pursue the very idea I have of freedom, the idea of freedom that I envision is different from other humans' ideas of freedom, therefore we all pursue something different, our different ideas of freedom. These ideas divide us as many of us want to be free, for many it is our highest priority, many of us will die for our freedom, therefore this idea of freedom is that which divides us, something we will die for, something we put before life itself.

If I am pursuing freedom, I am not free, I can never be free. I am trapped by the pursuit to be free; I am trying to attain the very idea I am creating. I cannot attain what I am creating (the idea I have of freedom) because I am the one that is creating, I cannot attain myself, I am myself.

Therefore, the Idea I am pursuing of freedom is that which keeps me from being free, I am always trying to be myself rather than being myself, I am trying to be something I am not rather than remaining what I am. Creating something outside of myself which I pursue means I cannot be free to be myself, I am always trying to be something else. Freedom is being myself, remaining with all that I am, all thoughts, memories, images, feelings, sensations. To Remain with it all, to watch it all, to embrace it all and not escape it, degrade it or supress it. To allow myself to flow like an ocean no matter the weather and turbulence, to learn from myself through reflection. Not as a one-off thing, as a living thing, for the entirety of ones living.

When I pursue an idea of freedom, I am pursuing an idea and an idea is a distortion from reality, something outside of reality, something that is not present. A projection of everything I have learned, all memories of the past into the future as something to pursue, I trap myself in time, a distortion of reality which I pursue and the outcome of this reality, every action towards this reality creates suffering. The difference between doing what I am doing or doing something to get something else is the difference between remaining with what I am doing and pursuing the future. There is no joy in pursuit to attain what is not real, what is not real is death for life is everlasting.

As long as I pursue an idea of freedom, I run away from freedom. I unconsciously create an environment that creates more suffering. I then escape this suffering because I want to be free of it, I either turn to habits, drugs, entertainment, to escape suffering. This is that which causes the pursuit to freedom in the first place. As long as I escape suffering, I am not free, I rely on something to escape. As long as I try to be something else, achieve something else, attain something else, I am escaping what I am.

This is what creates a sick society, society is a reflection of what I am, I am not different from society, what is happening in the world is the outcome of my pursuit to escape, my pursuit to be free. I have turned freedom into something outside of myself, which billions of people have too – because of this conflict arises from what I am and what I want to be and this conflict collectively results in war, corruption, violence.

I run away from my suffering then it manifests in society, I don’t face it and because I don’t face it – it results in destruction, pollution, violence, murder – and whatever else. When the suffering is ignored, it does not end. It manifests in the dark as unconscious which breeds violence. By avoiding suffering, I am escaping the natural way of life. By escaping life, I am living in a state of death and destruction.

Pain alternates to unconscious because one escape this pain. Unconscious is not something one cannot see or get to; unconscious arises as a result of one escaping of what one is. I neglect how I feel, emotions, thoughts, memories and sensations because they’re uncomfortable. The very fact that I am pursuing something, an idea – the future; creates unconscious - patterns, supressed sensations and images that give strength to the continuation of escaping, to pursue something other than what I am.

Unconscious is not something I am not, it is not something that I cannot see, it is here. The idea I pursue is a distorted perception of reality which hides what is really here – this is ignorance. When I remain with what I am and not escape it, all is conscious. Unconscious can be seen as the will to ignore – not the opposite of conscious.

The unconscious action which is ignorance(willpower) breeds actions that enslave me and create a reality that I want to be free from.

Therefore, I cannot approach freedom, whatever I do, whatever freedom “i” pursue – the action of pursuing is that which enslaves me. I am the conscious, I try to escape myself because being conscious is too painful, by doing this an unconscious pursuit to be free from pain rises which is the pursuit to be free.

This gives rise to the fact that I cannot pursue freedom, for the very pursuit to be free is that which takes away freedom that which I am attached to, an idea I have of freedom prevents me from being free.

Freedom is living, intelligence, the seeing of oneself without trying to change oneself. Freedom is every atom, every movement, the point of awareness.

For society to be free, I must see this. For society is a reflection of my actions to escape what I am. The very brain that ignores suffering, escapes it with the delusion to be free is the same hands that write the corrupt laws, speak corrupt media, that hurt others; the wars, the violence, the corruption, this all arises because I escape what I am in pursuit of an idea.

Society is the summary of all of humanities pursuits to be free. All of societies endeavours, I depend on society to give me freedom, humanity depends on society to be free. Yet as long as I depend on society to be free, it will remain the thing I can never renounce. The very thing I depend on enslaves me, along with its corruption, violence and war.

The very ideas that exist as me. As long as I pursue these ideas, I contribute to enslaving myself and humanity.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

thewanderingseeker

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/thewanderingsweker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.