Humans logo

The butterflies

The end of my marriage before I knew it.

By Lakin ClevingerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Butterfly done by Adon Curley of Claypool Hill VA

I have 19 tattoos total, but this one holds a place in my heart because, to me, butterflies changed the way I seen the world. It was June 14th, 2019 and my husband at the time had begged me to take a day off of work for us to go fishing as a “date” without our children since we hadn’t spent any quality time together in a while. I agreed, took the day off and around 12:00pm we left our kids with their grandparents for our fishing date. To my knowledge he meant well and everything was fine and it was a normal date to me.. fast forward to us getting there and as soon as I stepped out of the car an orange and black butterfly flew to me and landed on my hand. I was excited because that rarely happens, but then it stayed. It would not get off of me no matter how many times I put it down. First it was my hand, then my foot, then my shoulder. (Mind you I was wearing no perfume, wasn’t sweating yet because I had just got out of air conditioned car, and was clean) Even as I casted my pole over and over it stayed on shoulder and refused to let my husband touch it. Then came a black and blue butterfly, and another. All 3 staying on me and coming back to me. None wanted near him. I thought the entire situation was off because that had never happened to me, and my husband barely spoke to me and didn’t even fish. So he huffed and puffed, I put the butterflies down and we left and went to another spot a few miles down the road. As soon as I get there, another butterfly comes to me, same occurrence in a completely different spot. He gets angry and decides he wants to leave. I knew something was off with him, but the butterflies have me such a feeling of warmth I can’t explain. Maybe it was just cool to me, I don’t know, but I felt protected. Silly I know. We get back to my parents’ house to pick up the kids and as soon as I step on their porch, nowhere near the fishing spots, a black and blue butterfly lands on my foot and stays. Shortly after that, my husband said I needed to take the kids home because he wanted to go fishing again, after we just went and he didn’t even fish! So I knew then he was going to see someone else. Two days later was Fathers Day that year, I made him breakfast among other things he requested and shortly after he told me he didn’t love me anymore and left me. I found out he did cheat on me the day we went fishing two days prior, and that is when our relationship of 8 years ended. The cruelty that followed only solidified the feeling to me that those butterflies were either trying to tell me something or giving me a sense of protection knowing the evil I was standing next to. Maybe they just liked me or the way I smelled, who knows. But I find comfort in that, and I always will.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.