Humans logo

The Beginning of a New Chapter

Vows to a man in the Marine Corps.

By Lisa GonzalezPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Marine Corps Ball 2017

The hardest part of this process was my vows. The saying “No words can ever describe how much you love someone” well...that is a very factual statement. There are so many things I want to tell you (Tyler) but how do I even start? I can tell you “I love you”, or “you’re my entire world”, I could tell you a never ending book on why I’ll be saying “I do” in 6 days. The only problem is...I have no idea where to start. Do I start from the moment I laid my eyes on you? Or the moment you asked me to go out with you? Or maybe the first time you told me you love me? I have not a stinking clue. I have written two sets of vows and they’re both beautiful but they do not even say everything I want to say. So, I combined them together and still nothing. I am keeping them because if I continue to write I’ll never be ready. So here it goes.

Today I’ll say “I Do” but you also need to know that...

I will.

I will love you till the end of time.

I will never dull your shine.

I will call you to tell you good night.

I will text you good morning everyday.

I will forever make sure your smile is always bright, beautiful, and true.

I will care for you in sickness and in health.

I will forever be your best friend.

I will forever be someone you can rely on.

I will forever support anything and everything you do.

I will forever stick my finger in your mouth when you yawn.

I will forever smack your ass when you least expect it because you get a cheesy smile every time I do.

I will forever make you watch Grey's Anatomy with me. So don’t say I didn’t warn you.

I will forever only need our morning McDonalds dates. (Like we did in high school)

I promise to love you no matter where the Marine Corps drags you off to

I promise to be waiting for your return

I promise you I will always be by your side

I will forever be there through it all. I will never make you choose. I will help you build yourself more and more everyday, as you have helped me become the person I am today. I will be your shoulder when the tears are rolling down your face, I know you'll need it sometimes. I will be the sun that makes your eyes shine. I will carry your children. I will care for them as I have cared for you. I will because you are my best friend, and now my husband, and one day the father of my kids. I will love our families...yes even the stubborn ones, because to me Family is everything.

After you, all of my plans changed; like Marose said “He has taught you how to love someone more than yourself and even yourself”.

After you, all the pain I had endured disappeared.

After you I could trust again.

After you, I decided not to join the Marine Corps or the Military in general because that was not my last option.

After you, you made me believe that anything is possible with the right mindset. That I can because... I am smart, beautiful, strong, and that I have the will to make it to the end goal.

Tyler Jay. No matter what life throws our way we will catch it, endure it, and overcome it. You will not go through anything alone, I am here, I am right here with you. And although you’ll try to get rid of me at times when you want to be alone, you will still not be alone. Tyler Jay you’ve changed my life in a way I never thought anyone could. You made me smile & laugh even when tears were rolling down my cheeks. You made this world and my world a better place. And if you don’t already know we live in a life full of uncertainties, but you, I'm certain of in this moment and everyday. I’ve always been sure about you, Since that moment in front of the hot air balloons, when you nervously grabbed my hands and told me you loved me for the very first time, since that moment I have known you’re MY one. So, although “I do”, you also have to know that “I Will” because I love you.

A saying I saw that made complete sense:

To many people you’re just another face in another uniform...But to me you’re my heart/and my happiness.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Gonzalez

I’m 19, in love with a United States Marine, soon to be Mrs. Greb.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.