Humans logo

Soul Ties

You Should Be Careful Who You Give Yourself To

By Lanique RuffinPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
5

Up until a few years ago, I had no idea what a soul tie was. I just knew that I had things going on with me in the past that I couldn't understand. I couldn't understand why I still felt emotionally attached to certain individuals. I couldn't stand these people but at the same time, for some reason I couldn't shake the feelings that I had. I started to question if I still cared about the individual...until things were put into perspective for me. I was told that I was dealing with a soul tie.

I met a young lady online a few years ago. She turned out to be one of he most down to earth individuals that I know. She opened my mind to so many things on a spiritual level that I never even knew existed. I mean, my mind was completely blown by the things she taught me.

I connected with her and started filling her in on my thoughts and what's been going on with me mentally. I was a little apprehensive about telling her what was going on with me. It wasn't because I didn't think she would understand, but because In my mind, it sounded weird Hell I really thought something was wrong but she broke things down for me. I will not use her exact words but I will give the definition she gave me and then I will put things into my own words.

She basically told me that, a soul tie is a spiritual or emotional connection you have with someone after being intimate with them. When she told me this, it was almost like a switch went on in my mind and everything I felt in the past, started to make sense.

Prior to meeting her, even before I met my love, I was dealing with moments where I still physically felt connected to people, even though I haven't spoken to them in years. If I had to describe the feeling, It literally felt like I was being pulled in this individuals direction. I was so confused too. One minute I hated this person, and the next they were on my mind. It took awhile to break that connection but eventually I did...the moment I met my love.

There's a reason why they say, If people knew how powerful sex was, they would be more mindful of who they sleep with. Not only is a piece of the person you're sleeping with left inside of you, but every person prior to you. You have no idea how many people that person slept with prior to you and how many people that person partners have slept with and so on. It's like a never ending cycle.

Remember, soul ties aren't always physical which means, you don't have to be sexually involved with someone for y'all souls to be connected.

A soul tie can mess with you emotionally, physically, and mentally. It'll have you feeling like you're addicted to that person. It could be so bad, it'll literally have you feeling like you can't live without said individual.

I know some of y'all reading this may not believe soul ties exist. It's ok because people fear what they don't understand. Instead saying it isn't true or it'll never happen to you, do some research on the topic and you'll see that a soul tie is more common than it's not.

As a matter of fact, take a moment and think about the relationships you've been in and are no longer in. I guarantee, you have a soul tie and you don't even realize it. Think about that toxic ex that you can't let go of. You know deep down in your heart that person isn't good for you but for some reason, you keep going back you may think it's because you love that person. that may be true, but it's also that soul tie that has you stuck to that individual.

So if you're ever feeling off balance after or during a relationship, don't just brush it off as it's the love that has you feeling the way you do. It could very well be that soul tie you're connected to.

humanity
5

About the Creator

Lanique Ruffin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.