Humans logo

Small thinks come in small acts

Acts of kindness

By TanyaPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Small thinks come in small acts
Photo by United Nations COVID-19 Response on Unsplash

Good things come in small acts of kindness.

Everyday life can be stressful and bring some of us down to our lowest points at times. As difficult as life may be at times, we find the good in it and sometimes the good might even find us. What do I mean by this you think to yourself? What I am referring to is good old fashion kindness you offer or show another person, it might be someone you may or may not know. When doing so you are not expecting anything in return. Google defines kindness as; the quality of being friendly, generous, and considerate. Did you know a small act of kindness could really boost someone’s day, mood, or leave a life impact that the person will remember for their life? It could also be contagious and have the person you showed kindness to show kindness to someone else.

We live in a world these days where acts of kindness seem like a once upon a time, a dream, and even maybe just a myth, but when the unexpected happens meaning an act of kindness, “wow” it sure is noticed, appreciated, and sometimes even caught on video and streamed on social media. Good deeds/kindness should be noticed, even though the person caught doing the act does not expect it at all, nor did the person on the receiving side. Some people might even notice the act of kindness which is fine too. Do you honestly think that would stop a kindhearted person from continuing to spread kindness, “Shoot no way I say” I think it just makes them try more?

I have borne witness to acts of kindness firsthand, in some ways people may not understand, some might even disagree, but the majority will agree very much. Let us put it to the test. Think about the next few examples and think to yourself whether you believe it is an act of kindness or not. Let me play one example out to you.

An elderly woman is trying to open a door at a store but is having a difficulty because she has a bag in one hand and where walker that helps her walk in the other. A young man sees her having this difficulty and runs to help the elderly woman. The lady was so thankful. The young man did not just open the door for the elderly woman he grabbed the heavy bag from her and asked if he could help her to her car. The elderly woman was overwhelmed with gratitude. The young smiled and turned and walked away. A few days later the elderly had gone to that same store and was telling the owner about the young man and how thankful for his kindness. It turns out the young man was the 12-year-old son of the store owner.

A child was in an aisle at a store and was crying. The mother of the child was sitting across from the child also crying and asking the child to take her hand so that they could leave. A man was looking around the aisle to buy his daughter a gift for no reason other than for being good. As he was looking all around, he notices the child and her mother sitting there and they both looked incredibly sad. As he got closer to the two, he noticed they looked like they had not showered in days, they had holes in the shoes and their clothes were dirty and worn their hair was not brushed. The man tried not to stare at them to much as to make them feel uncomfortable. He got close enough to hear what was being said between the child and her mother. It turned out that the little girl wanted a Barbie doll, and it was not just because it was her birthday. The mother did not have the money to buy the doll. The man was teary eyed and asked the mother if it would okay to speak to her daughter. The mother said it was okay. The man asked the little girl what was wrong, and she explained to him it was her birthday and her mother could not afford it. The man asked the little girl what was it she was wanting? The little girl showed the man the doll. The man picked up the doll and asked the mom and little girl to follow him to the register, the man paid for the doll and gave it to the little girl and then the man gave the mom money. The mom and daughter were crying with happiness. They gave the man a huge hug and the man walked away with the biggest smile on his face.

One day I was at a store with my two kids. My son is autistic and currently he was 6 years-old at the time and my daughter was 3 years-old. I had just moved to another state. I just found out my son was autistic. I was under a lot of stress. We were at the store to buy groceries. I had a full basket full of items. I went to pay for our items. I placed all the items in my bags and all that was left was for me to pay. I went to look for my wallet. I could not find it. I started to panic. My kids were getting impatient and started to get fussy. I looked all over the store where we had walked. I could not find it. I went back up the register to tell the lady I needed to void out the sale. I was crying m kids were crying and I was so sick to my stomach. As I told the lady I needed to cancel the sale and I said that a husband and wife said no do not we will pay for it. Oh, my goodness my heart dropped filled with joy. As they were paying a child came up to me and gave me my wallet back with everything still in it. I looked at the couple and said let me get the money out from the ATM to repay you. The couple looked at me and said please it is okay you keep it and maybe one day you can pay it forward. I was in shock and at the same time I felt so blessed. I thanked them repeatedly. As the kids and I were walking to the front to leave the store as was approached by a lady and asked me if it was okay that she had bought my kids happy meals. At that point I could not hold back the tears. I thanked the lady which turned out to be the mother of the kid who found my wallet. I then thanked them repeatedly. As I was walking to the car the basket full of items that the couple had paid for and the happy meals the lady and kid had bought for my kids a man walked up to me and asked if I needed help with putting the items in my car, I said it is okay I think I got it but thank you very much. Just then the man looked at me and said okay but can I share something with real fast I know you got to attend to your kids and get home to put your items away. So, I stopped what I was doing and gave the man my full attention. He had begun to tell a story of how used to be homeless and he would go around asking people for money. I looked at in surprise because this man did not look homeless, he looked like he was a well-off businessman to me. He went on with his story. He said it was in this parking lot I would pan handle at most. He said one day I was inside the store and I was very hungry and had just a few dollars and as I went to pay for my items, I did not have enough money. A kind lady with her two-child helped me pay for my items even though everyone in the line that was behind me was yelling at me and saying things like get out of here your kind should not even be allowed in here. The lady looked back them all and yelled back to the other people and told them to be quiet, that I had every right to be there he has got to eat too. Shame on you all. The lady walked with me out of the store and she asked me sir. She called me sir, a homeless man who had become this way because of losing his love of his life to cancer 2 years earlier. She said can I pray with you. She did not even know my story, but she prayed with me. That day on I started to change my life around. I found my daughter and son. They were so happy to see me, I started right back at my company that I own, I stopped drinking, I had hope and a life again. It had been almost two years since that day when that lady had helped me, and I have been looking all over her. That lady was you. I was already in tears before he said that just by listening to his story and then I was shocked. I remembered him. I could not believe he remembered me. He looked at me as he called over a woman and a man who turned out to be the man’s kids. The kids thanked me and hugged me and said you help helped our daddy come back home. We were all crying and just talking we exchanged numbers and as they were getting ready to leave the man looked at me and said oh, I almost forgot this is for you it was a envelop and he said open it when you sit down to relax and then read it. I said okay and we went our ways. Later that night after my kids went to sleep, I opened the envelop. It was a thank you card along with the prayer I had prayed with that helped him change his life. Along with was a check for one thousand dollars and an open invitation to his ranch anytime. We are still good friends and talk here and there, but he never forgets to tell me thank you for my life back.

Your turn, do you think these were acts of kindness? If so, I ask you to tell a strange hi, or someone that you appreciate them, maybe how about a GOD BLESS YOU. Thank you for reading and I hope you stay blessed and well friends.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Tanya

I am a proud mother of two special needs kids. It can be a little hard at times, but no matter what at the end of the day I love my kids more than anything, and I am so proud of them. They really do light my heart up like a wild flower.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.