Humans logo

Signs You May Be an Empath Part 1

Understanding and flowing in a natural-born gift.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Signs you may empathetic

As a child and even to this day I have always been over sensitive. I cry over situations that don't seem to bother others and I can often look at someone and tell what they are going through. Once a woman stood up in church and as she began to walk across the sanctuary, she stopped abruptly, put her hand on her side, squinted her eyes and winced as if in pain. I told my husband that cancer had returned and was in her bones. A few months later the pastor had this woman stand up and said, and I quote: "The church didn't know this but the cancer came back and was in her bones." The church may not have known, but my husband and I did.

There have been times when myself or my children knew what others were feeling or about to say. Sometimes I have pain or experience emotions that I know are related to someone else. I was taught that this is a characteristic of an Intercessor, someone whose prayers intercept, intervene, interrupt, or interfere with something bad that is taking place or about to happen to another. Healthprep.com explains this phenomena by referring to it as being an empath. This is an individual who is very sensitive to what others around them are feeling. This is more than being psychic, prophetic, being born with the gift, having second sight, a third eye, or a sixth sense.

Empaths are highly intuitive and just seem to know things and often can perceive the hurt and pain someone has experienced in their past. Discerning motives is also a part of this gift. Someone may look you in your face and tell you one thing, but you know that something else is really going on and later you get confirmation that you were correct. Being empathetic is a natural born gifting. It is not acquired by a preacher laying hands on you and launching you into your destiny. There is no need to read tea leaves, use a crystal ball, tarot cards or a Ouija board. What comes to you simply comes when it does and there is no way to manipulate it.

Health prep says that because empaths are so in tune with emotions, they often desire to help others and can sense when someone needs help. There have been times when I have been overwhelmed by the desire to give to a homeless person and at other times I feel as if the individual is running a scam. Empaths have an inner desire for the entire world to get along in peace and harmony. Unfortunately as I and others have found out, there are those who mistake kindness and empathy for weakness and will try to take advantage of those who offer assistance.

Empaths are like super sleuths and Health prep says they would be excellent as private detectives. These individuals notice and observe every detail in situations, often without being aware they are doing it. An empath can take one glance at someone and size them up accurately. They observe makeup, clothing, and hairstyle, and can accurately say what motivated the individual to dress that way. A highly observant empath may notice a coworker suddenly working more or less. I can recall looking at people in a church I once attended and often telling my husband that someone was about to step out of a leadership position or leave the church and they did.

My grandmother was skilled at reading people although I did not notice the other characteristics of being an empath in her life. My three children and I flow in this gifting so I believe it does run in families. I cannot count the times that I will think to myself that I wish my oldest son would show up with a cup of coffee and he does. I have stopped at stores and purchased things for my children only to find out it was something they desired but ha told no one. The secular world would call this having a psychic connection and in some Christian churches it's called a Holy Ghost connection. I love it when I present my husband with a particular snack or cook a specific meal and he responds with, "How did you know?"

The late Prince was a musical genius because he could write lyrics, compose melodies, sing, dance, produce and act. It came to him naturally. Empaths naturally feel, sense, discern, perceive and know what they know without trying. It is my personal opinion that empaths are born and the gift has no bearing on religious beliefs. I do believe the gift can be influenced by whatever supernatural forces one may call upon, both good and evil. Thank you for reading part one, as there will be more to follow because this encompasses the entire life of those who fall into this category.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.