Humans logo

Should You Give the Person You Love a Second Chance?

Love keeps no record of wrong doings.

By Sarah VenturaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Almost three years ago I met the absolute love of my life. I had started my new job, and everything felt so right starting that job with him. We did everything together, and I swear we were the best of friends.

Six crazy months had passed us, and I found out I was pregnant ,and keep in mind I was only going to be 20! I was scared and afraid of what everybody would think of me, but we grew strong and never looked back. I decided to pack my things and live with him, and from there on we were super excited yet nervous... but I knew we would do a great job. A little time passes, and my son was born, and he was just about three months old, and that was when I started noticing the changed behavior in my man.

He would come home late, and on days off, he would say they called him in to do an extra shift. I always felt something was wrong, but I never believed that he would be doing me wrong behind my back with a newborn, but he was. I found out about two months later that he was cheating on me, and telling lies, and just wanted nothing to do with my son and I. As hurt as I was, I kept my faith no matter what, because no matter what was going to happen between us I had to be strong for my son, and I did. We were separated for almost two months until he broke it off with his girlfriend, and begged for me back. He tried to talk to me and wanted to do things with Aiden and I, but it wasn’t the same.

But one day I decided to hear him out, and he was telling me how much he misses us, and how he wants to be back in our lives. Took me a while to take him back, but eventually I did, and I told him if I found out about anything else I’d be gone for absolute good! I took him back even though I was still hurt, and crying late at night. My mind just replaying everything over and over, but I always got on my knees and prayed to god to give me strength no matter what it led to, but to give me strength a little each day–and he did.

I sat down with my guy, and told him I forgave him, but I will no longer be blind. There were times when I’d bring up old dirt that he did to me when we would fight, and honestly I hated it. We were together, but always fighting and to be honest it was mainly because of me, so we figured it out together, because we wanted each other, but didn’t know how to communicate with things. So we sat down and let all of our feelings and emotions out, and he apologized for the past mistakes he’s done to me, but they are over and he wants a new start where I have faith in him and he has faith in me. Trust and honesty is where we are today...

Now we hardly fight, and we give each other the space we deserve, while we are still in love with each other. I feel a lot better, and so does he; our relationship feels more alive than ever. Now I’m not telling anyone to take back a continuous cheater, because you better run if that’s the case. I’m saying that if there truly is love between you both then a second chance wouldn’t hurt. It makes you wiser and smarter, but mostly a believer in faith.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.