Humans logo

Should a Wife Submit To Her Husband?

It is okay to submit to your husband

By Robyn Ware-MosesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Should a Wife Submit To Her Husband?
Photo by Derek Owens on Unsplash

In today's society submission of a wife to the will of her husband seems unthinkable. We live in a society in which today's women have rights and women are exercising those rights daily. But this article is not about the rights of women, it is about the natural inclination of a wife to submit to her husband. It seems of ancient thinking that a wife should submit to her husband, but is it something of old to believe in the act of submission of a wife to her husband. I don't think so.

I came to my marriage unaware of how marriage should work. I had no concept of allowing a man to lead. I had been watching the two women I grew up with lead everyday. They called all the shots, made all the decisions. My grandmother was on husband number two, and my mother had left her marriage long ago, so long ago I had no recollection of my father ever being in the household, and he had disappeared from my life, and hers too. My grandmother's husband (who I considered my grandfather and still do) worked 12 hours a day, so was away from the home for long hours. I imagined both had to make decisions for their lives and the lives of those they loved. However, I never saw them once consult any of the men in our home. My two uncles were there and my grandfather. Maybe they did consult them but I never witnessed it.

So fast forward to marriage. I didn't think that I needed to ask my husband anything. Any decision I wanted to make, I would call my mother. It was a pattern, my mother and her mother had consulted each other for everything, and I in turn started to do the same thing, consult my mom for everything. I should have been consulting my husband, but I didn't know any better. At that time I was offended when ever he would try to put a word into the conversation. Today I know better, you cannot come to a marriage without knowing that your husband is your other half. He is definitely a source for you. There is no union that can last without cohesiveness.

Your husband has the responsibility of protection of his wife, the union, and the family. The husband and wife are the foundation. Your husband should lead the way with commitment, love, provision, security and sacrifice. The wife has the responsibility of comfort. When a wife submits to her husband, she doesn't need to worry about anything, her needs will be met. Her husband will appreciate her and feel contentment. He's doesn't need to wonder about anything, he knows her submission is related to his love and mutual respect, and in turn he feels valued and appreciated.

It is okay to submit to your husband if he is taking care of his husband duties with honor and reverence for you as a wife and your marriage. Being a wife who submits to her husband doesn't make a women weak, or vulnerable, it should make you feel in harmony with your husband. The ideal of submission is not an ancient idea, but something that needs renewing. Many women today have not witnessed a positive marital experience, so have no idea of how marriage should work. You as a wife are at your husband's side and he is at your will. If he needs redirecting that is your job.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.