Humans logo

Scissors

Know your worth!

By Chelsea WinonaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everyone has had their share of toxic relationships. They are as common as going to the grocery store nowadays. Honestly, it takes an emotionally strong person to see them for what they are, and remove themselves from them.

If someone in your life is causing you more stress then happiness, it's time to cut them off in 2018. In order to build yourself up, you must have a strong support system behind you, whether that be friends, family, or a spouse. Some people in this world are just not meant to be a part of your system, and that is OKAY!

In life, you have to make some choices that may not be the best for others, but end up being the best for you. Not everyone you surround yourself with will be okay with that. Remember, if someone is not looking out for your best interests and what makes you happy, it may be time to let that person go.

I can speak from experience. Looking back at the relationship that I had for five years compared to the one I have today, you can see a world of difference. Someone who deserves to be a part of your support system will be happy with you through your greatest moments, and they will cry with you during your worst. They will make a promise to be there for you, and they will do their best to keep that promise.

Today, I am so proud that I finally have these things and more. I have someone who listens and cares about my opinions. A man who has been there for me since the day I met him. He has always looked out for me, and he puts me and our son first. In this generation...I guess my generation, that is a pretty hard trait to come by. Just believe me, by making the decision to remove some people from your life, you could have this too.

Some people are only meant to teach you something, and then they are supposed to be let go. Now, do not get this twisted—this is not just about romantic relationships. It can also be applied to your friendships.

I'm sure by now everyone has heard the phrase, "Not everyone is your friend," and as cliché as that may sound to you, whoever first said that was wise beyond their years. Not everyone can be your friend, and not everyone will want to derive from their own selfish needs to make room for yours.

Listen to me, you do not have to be afraid to get rid of these people. They are NOT healthy for you or for your future self. These people will continue with their lives, and so will you. There are plenty of fish in the romantic and friendship pools that you do not need to worry. You will find someone (hopefully better) to replace them. So, do not waste your time on these people. You deserve more. You deserve to have a HAPPY, stress-free life. You need to make these decisions for yourself TODAY!

Do not forget to remember your worth. You only get one life and there's no need to waste it on people who are not for you. If someone in your life just cannot seem to get with it, it's time to get your scissors, my friend, because you deserve better.

Thank you guys for reading, and if you are feeling a little generous, go and read my other article, "A Message from a Mom."

advice
Like

About the Creator

Chelsea Winona

Go check out my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.