Humans logo

Run out of the truth of life

Run out of the truth of life

By RACHEL HELMSPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
46
Run out of the truth of life
Photo by Chander R on Unsplash

 While jogging, a friend asks, "Why do you care how far you run? It's not like it's a race."

  

  I said, "Or what?"

  

  He said, "You can set the time you want to run, never mind the distance, adjust your breathing first, run this time in the most comfortable and enjoyable way, run as much as you like, run as far as you like, isn't it great?"

  

  After I was convinced to run in a different way, I found that jogging became more free and interesting, not only that, I ran many places I hadn't run in the past, and my horizon was more open. This was a big shift in my jogging career. As a result of this, I am running further and further.

  

  I found that the problem that most people face when jogging is the rate of their heartbeat. That is, when our heart rate reaches a certain point, our cardiorespiratory capacity can no longer handle it, thus limiting the speed and distance we can run.

  

  I told my friend, who asked, "Why are you having trouble with your own heart and lungs?"

  

  I asked, "What else?"

  

  My friend said, "If you can run, you run, and when you can't run, you stop and rest. When your heart and lungs recover, it's not too late to continue running."

  

  I listened to my friend and started to run in a different way, and found that I had a whole different kind of fun.

  

  At that time, I was working in the hospital for advanced cancer pain control and accompanying many patients to walk the last part of their lives. I would talk to patients while helping them with nerve blocks or other medical procedures. I have found that when life comes to an end and I look back at the things I cared about most, few people care most about their power, rank, and possessions, the things they usually draw on every day. Instead, what most people care about are the small, simple memories of their lives, or a story, a beloved person, or a small unfulfilled wish.

  

  Once, a terminal cancer patient lamented to me, "It's silly to think that I wasted so much time in this life, in accumulating money that I couldn't spend in the end, to achieve fame that actually doesn't mean much ......"

  

  I don't know why, but such a feeling reminds me of running.

  

  Life is actually the same. In the end, the point is not how far to run, how fast to run, or how to run to the limit, but step by step when running, sweating, breathing mood and fun ah!

  

  In this way, I learn a little bit of life in running, and a little bit of running in life.

advice
46

About the Creator

RACHEL HELMS

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.