Humans logo

Round of Applause

a dedication to my clan

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 6 min read
26
Created with Canva Pro

I am writing this piece to share my uncontainable joy (yes, it's that over-the-top) in finding my 'clan' of creators. I really wanted to use conclave, but well, it's not a secret now if it ever was.

I very much wanted to do this at the end of last year as a sort of recap, but the days got away from me. The holidays are not a prolific writing time as I am busy doing all the good things with my family. And I have no regrets.

So here it is now, a few weeks later than intended but in no way less meaningful. I've included a quick glimpse of those creators I interact with the most. I hope you take a moment to possibly look at their work, and consider engaging in some facebook groups as that is where this journey all began.

I do want to stress the word 'engage' as simply dropping links all over the place with no reciprocation or commenting (either on fb or on Vocal comments) is not how to make long-lasting, creative friends or get your work seen. Sermon over.

I was publishing on the Vocal platform for at least 10-11 months before I found the first two fb groups in an article by Call Me Les. Those groups changed my writing life. I finally had people to share my passion with, give feedback, get feedback, and simply interact.

From there I stumbled upon more and more, seeing familiar faces and finding new ones. It was when I was invited by Rick Henry to his group Vocal+Assist that things got even better. And here we are today :)

I have a community of individuals that all bring different strengths, styles, endless creativity, positivity, real emotion and true camaraderie. I absolutely love that so many different areas of the world are represented. Due to the time differences, I often wake up to a slew of notifications that always make me smile.

And a very quick aside to say that this list is in no way meant to exclude or sideline anyone not mentioned. My 'clan' is constantly evolving as new friends come in and others need to take breaks for a time. I'm sure I'll look back at this in a few weeks or months and realize it's changed again. I've also put everyone in alphabetical order so no significance is given to placement.

* * *

Cathy - Cathy is a real gem! She makes me laugh with her witty humor and blows me away with her incredible talent. I love our banter and know that with her, still waters run deep. She has so much to offer and always lends a listening ear, mostly listening to me vent or whine, lol. We both speak sarcasm fluently. I can always count on her to be one of the first to read my new works. She writes so many things from silly-but-clever articles featuring her cat Abigail, to heart-wrenching poetry, to gripping short stories. You can't go wrong with anything she writes.

* * *

Dharrsheena - From the first fb group interaction I had to this very day, Dharrsheena has been such a bright light in every way possible. She is a champion for all and the most genuine person, always reading and encouraging. I love her quick wit and quirky sense of humor (which we share). I always know she is in my corner, reading my works, giving me feedback and sharing fun inside jokes. I admire the inner strength she shows in dealing with difficult situations. She writes very deep, thoughtful poetry as well as very clever horror stories, and incredible articles about nutrition and real life crime just to name a few.

* * *

Mike - Mike has also been a supporter and kind friend from the beginning, always offering advice, never acting competitive, and being a genuine sounding board. He has helped and guided me with so many things including using Twitter, Vocal's ambassador program and much much more. He is always quick to lend a listening ear, day or night (I think sometimes he doesn't sleep, lol). He writes about things he enjoys and has a very creative mind. If you want to read about a beautiful sonnet, a music review, an inventive piece of fiction or want to see some sweet kittens, you will find it all on his site. He has over 1000 stories on Vocal, so there is something for everyone, I promise!

* * *

Thavien - Thavien is a creator that I've become more and more familiar with over the last few months. He is a wonderful sounding board, genius poet, a really good listener and the best commenter. In fact multiple times, his on-the-spot comments have led to his own publications they are so great! I value his feedback and trust his judgement when it comes to figuring out what photos to use, if I should change wording, if I should publish the stupid thing at all. He has a great sense of humor and an incredibly quick wit. I appreciate his friendship. He writes a lot of epic stories with amazingly complex storylines, and writes poetry with an ease that would make you jealous.

* * *

Veronica - Veronica is another person I met from the beginning of my fb group journey. She is such a kind and thoughtful soul. Always offering up such helpful feedback and leaving encouraging comments. She sent me my first "author gift"–a beautiful heart-shaped necklace that reminded her of my first story on Vocal. It is a great treasure, and I value her input and friendship. She writes, sings and draws always with such a realness and honesty that you can't help but be drawn in. She has personal articles (which are some of my favorite) to amazing short stories, to some really touching poetry. And if you get lucky, she includes her singing as a bonus.

* * *

I also want to give a very special shout out to all the creators I have linked in my profile as favorites (please go to the end of the article or click on their names for their Vocal profiles and see all the amazing things they write about):

Babs Iverson, C.H. Richard, Emily Marie Concannon, Gina C., Joe Patterson, Keila Aartila, Kelli Sheckler-Amsden, Lonzo Ward, Paul Stewart, Rick Henry, and Tiffany Gordan.

* * *

And another big shout out to these wonderful creators I've gotten to interact with more and more over the last few months (I've embedded a link to each creator's Vocal profile so you can easily check out their works. Just click on their name!):

Angel Whelan, Antoinetter L Brey, Brin J., Caroline Jane, Colleen Millsteed, Dana Stewart, Daniel Jeyaraman, Dean F. Hardy, Holly Pheni, J. Delaney-Howe, Jason Basaraba, Jordan Twiss, Judey Kalchik, Lamar Wiggins, Linda Rivenbark, Lisa A Lachapelle, Mariann Carroll, Melissa Ingoldsby, Misty Rae, Moe Radosevich, Morgana Miller, Oneg in The Artic, Stephanie J. Bradberry, Poppy the Poet, Russell Ormsby, Scott Wade, Sleepy drafts (Em), The Dani Writer

You all have a special place in my heart for impacting my writing journey and for always extending kindness and encouragement.

I would in all honesty probably have given up on the Vocal platform if it wasn't for all of these amazing people.

I am sorry for any that I've missed. If your name is not on this list, you are no less a wonderful creator or great person and I hope to get to know you better soon!

* * *

I'm finishing with this song by Andrew Gold (thank you Rick Henry for sharing it recently).

advicesocial mediafriendship
26

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Discovering the facebook groups has definitely upped my enjoyment of vocal (and my game). Hope to have the honor of earning a place in your clan!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    What a very kind and thoughtful piece. Thank you so much for taking time to write it. You are an amazing writer and I really enjoy reading your work. ❤️❤️❤️

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    What a thoughtful way to show the love you have for those following and sharing a journey. I can't remember the first story you commented on of mine. But I do remember the first story I read of yours "In the Dead of night." I tend to gravitate toward that genre and the story did not disappoint. I continue to enjoy the consistent work you produce and celebrate the recognition you receive from vocal and the communities. Keep on trekking girl!!!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Wow, what a way to honor your clan. You can tell you put a ton of thought into creating this Thank You.

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Oh, this just gave me alllllll the feels!!! 🥰❤️ This is so beautiful, thoughtful, and heartfelt. All of these writers are amazing, talented individuals. Thank you so much for sharing this, and for including me in your list. ❤️❤️❤️

  • Awwww 🥺🥺🥺 This really touched my heart, you touched my heart 🥺❤️ Oh my dear Heather, just when I think you can't get any sweeter, you prove me wrong. I feel soooooo grateful that I'm friends with such a beautiful and kind soul. Please Vocal Gods, I would like my friend Heather, my favourite nerd, my looney partner and my fellow moderator to always get a Top Story for everybody she writes and if I'm not pushing it, for her stories/poems to win challenges! 💖 Thank you so much, you have no idea how much this means to me 🥺❤️

  • I don't know what to say, thank you so much for the shout out and this has Top Story written all over it, heartfelt, and so glad that I can sometimes be a little help to some people. Thank you soooo much for this

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    How sweet! The groups and many of the same individuals have impacted my writing journey as well -- yourself included, Heather! Thanks for having a heart of gold and a pen of fire.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Hearted , love how you mention such supportive individuals in the group that keep vocal creators motivated . ♥️👌

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Awww, so sweet. It’s a great pleasure sharing stories with you. You are such a beautiful soul ❤️

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Such a wonderful tribute! I am loving getting to know each and every one of those mentioned!! 🥰🥰

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    What a sweet piece!!! Thank you for the shout out too! Hearted

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    What a wonderful piece, and what a wonderful friend you are. Bravo.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Awwwww. You are Vocal Royalty Queen Heather! ❤️

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Lovely, love, love, love it!!! A round of applause for you, Heather!!! Grateful for you and all our creator friends on the fbg's!!!💕💖

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    That was a labor of love! Very glad you have found such support and happiness!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    Wow! This is WONDERFUL! >tear flicking< I'm already digging in to these! Thank you so much for sharing!

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    Sweet mercy that is a lot of hyperlinks. Goodness gracious, Your keyboard must be exhausted, Heather! You might just have to dip Your fingers in a soothing salt bath later on after adding all those links. I'm just thinking about how many times You had to "Ctrl+Tab" and then "Ctrl+v." A moment we pause A round of applause From copied and pasted The time that You've made it To give us great statements While You're not complacent We've been Through the weeks and months On Vocal's Medium Messages that flew forth Like traveling on Expedia From content to comments Like haikus we vomit Our words are together Stringing pieces and letters Sentences stronger than leather With flow and prose Lines and rows upon rows From Fiction to Superstition And editorial review To even pictures and fixtures Rehashing old writings and making them new It's what we do As an Author We have to Author Rize To be on the Rise As we unfold the creativity From our Brains Striated Minds From interfolds to Inner Molds To the cards we hold Divulging into new topical spheres, We have to grow bold Yes, like the time that changes and moves on Memories will remain even after we've moved on.

  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    It’s an honor to know such an Amazing writer.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.