Humans logo

Readyship Before Relationship

Relationships

By Doe's Crafte`Published 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Self-love, best love.

As a child I've experienced my share of abuse at the hands of others. I've learned and experienced things at a young age that no child that young should know about. So, naturally, I matured faster. Which led me to believing I had pretty much lived life enough and knew what I wanted. Granted, there are things that I matured faster in than others, emotionally. But I was under the impression that all my emotional growth was together. You have several aspects that make up emotional growth. I came to realize what I experienced as a child had me looking for love in a lot of the wrong ways.

At a younger age, I felt you're supposed to need someone in your life. And if others didn't need me as much as I needed them, then I was hurt! I felt like you weren't in love with me unless I was the reason you enjoyed the moon and the stars. I felt it wasn't love unless you were head over heels and wanted to be around me 24/7. I felt it wasn't love unless you confessed "I was the air that you breathe." I felt it wasn't love if you didn't go an hour or minute without thinking about me through a text or a call. A "good morning" text was just the best thing ever. But that "good morning" text essentially became nothing for me without some conversation, because I've learned to love myself.

I've learned quite a bit of things I wanted from the other person were characteristics of someone who was possessive. I've learned that I needed to enjoy spending time with myself, and not just being happy because of the time others spent enjoying things with me. I've learned I don't have to fish for compliments for others to love myself, and I can get the best love in the world from me! I've learned that I was codependent on others needing me. I don't need anyone to need me in their life, because if something were to happen to me, they would be less likely to live a happy life without me. I want someone to want me in their life. I don't want to be with someone where we're constantly exchanging baggage and not unloading it and leaving it were it needed to be. You have to love yourself before you love anyone else, so you can teach them how to love you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Doe's Crafte`

I've started a journey on self love and actualization. I've hit a milestone in my life where I've become more realistic and staying true to optimism. I like sharing my thoughts and helping others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.