Humans logo

Purpose and Meaning in Life

Where do we find meaning in life with suffering and pain

By Nikki AlbertPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

I was talking to someone who felt like they had no purpose and meaning in life. Some might respond that we do not necessarily need meaning. That life simply is. However, meaning and purpose are factors in life satisfaction. And I think we can all agree as humans we create meaning, whether we want to or not. To feel like this life has no meaning and we have no purpose in it means we have no motivation or drive to persist in our goals. I am sure we have at all, at one time or another, related to this feeling. I certainly have.

Chronic pain and meaning

Certainly, with chronic pain and vertigo being disabled you sort of struggle with that sense of purpose when you lose a lot of functionality. And your work. Many people equate work with meaning. So I obviously felt like a burden and struggled with purpose and meaning. Of course, I found life doesn’t need to be constantly Purposeful and Meaningful: capital P and M.

But- the more meaning and purpose you find in life the more life satisfaction you have and life satisfaction is basically what we mean when we say ‘happiness’. Because of course happiness is a fleeting emotion but overall life satisfaction is actually something we want.

Victor Frankl

Victor Frankl thought a whole lot about humans and our need for meaning and purpose in life. And he isn’t wrong. I don’t think so. We are meaning-making machines and I do think we need some sense of meaning in our lives to feel like ‘all this crap’ makes sense. When we wrap it all up in a story we can endure almost anything.

His criteria:

  1. Life has meaning under all circumstances, even the most miserable ones.
  2. Our main motivation for living is our will to find meaning in life.
  3. We have freedom to find meaning in what we do, and what we experience, or at least in the stance we take when faced with a situation of unchangeable suffering.

Basically, even with immense suffering we have absolutely no control over we do have control over our stance we take against it- and that is our meaning. We have meaning in how we endure suffering, how we hold up to it, and how we react to it.

And maybe that seems crappy to everyone else but it Means something because anything else you get from there- any gleams of sunshine, any slices of life, is Because of that stance you take against suffering. I know there are times the stance I have taken, how I endure pain, and how I react to it was not beneficial to my mental and emotional well-being.

Pain sucks and it is difficult to cope with long term. It took decades for me to learn resilience and different, more effective, coping strategies to have a stance that helps me hold up, rather than crash and burn. Only because I now know my limits and what level of pushing myself makes me crash and burn when I push beyond my limits for an extended period of time. And when the stance I took wasn't all that awesome my brain created some crappy meaning, and beliefs and thoughts about pain. Inevitably this led to a deep, deep depression. That meaning wasn't wrong either. It was just not entirely right either. It was just one meaning of living with pain.

We are how we perceive things to be. Our brains are writing the story of our lives. If we do not consciously make our meaning it makes it for us.

According to Victor, we can discover meaning by:

  • by creating a work or doing a deed;
  • by experiencing something or encountering someone; and
  • by the attitude we take toward unavoidable suffering” and that “everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms – to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances”

“Frankl emphasized that realizing the value of suffering is meaningful only when the first two creative possibilities are not available (for example, in a concentration camp) and only when such suffering is inevitable – he was not proposing that people suffer unnecessarily.” … he believed that a person is “capable of resisting and braving even the worst conditions”. In doing such, a person can detach from situations and themselves, choose an attitude about themselves, and determine their own determinants, thus shaping their own character and becoming responsible for themselves. (source)

And I think we don’t like to think pain has meaning. Suffering has Meaning. Because it is crappy. And it can make our lives so hellish and limits and Less that it would otherwise have been. Smaller. But it is an experience in the brain and our brain wraps it up in beliefs, ideas and thoughts. So it Definitely creates Meaning.

Pain as an experience in the brain

I know pain is an experience in the brain. I know our brain has an emotional experience of pain. A mental experience. Chronic pain more so. And I know our brain has to wrap a story around that to make some sense out of what doesn’t Make any Sense. And that is our belief system about pain. The story we tell ourselves about our pain. All the Meaning we wrap around it. Most of which we didn’t choose at all. But we can choose the meaning. As we go along and cope, adapt, endure, and gain acceptance we change perspectives on that meaning.

Viktor Frankl’s work has led to therapies we use today to manage our chronic pain. There are aspects of his work in Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), and Positive Psychology.

“Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom.” -VIKTOR FRANKL

Meaning and purpose

However, the thing I learned about meaning and purpose is that there are a whole lot of them. Lots of little meanings and small purposes. Because I can’t have a Purpose or Meaning with a disability- and maybe most people do not feel they have that.

However, for my Major Depressive Disorder and chronic pain to help with my suicidal ideation I had to trick my brain somehow. It want to die and I was struggling to survive. And this push-pull was endless. So to trick it I would make up little meaningful things to exist for. Some not so little - like being in the world for other people until I could be in the world for myself.

But we can have small meanings and small purposes. That satisfies a lot of those life satisfaction factors. And that is what we really want to aim for. We want higher life satisfaction. We do not need to have some GRAND meaning. Some ULTIMATE LIFE purpose.

Life Satisfaction factors:

  1. satisfied with who we are as a person? (self-esteem)
  2. do we have a good sense of self-identity and value who we are?
  3. do we feel like we contribute to society, or our family, or our personal lives in a way we value? (productive in a way that we value)
  4. do we feel like we contribute a positive experience to those around us- family, friends, co-workers? (positive social relationships)
  5. do we fear the future? Or look forward to it? Prepared for it? (sense of control)
  6. How is our overall mental, physical, and mental wellbeing?
  7. How is our quality of life?
  8. Do you feel there is meaning or purpose to your life?

If we can work on those? I think we are doing okay. I never really felt life had any real essential meaning or any real purpose. Maybe I was born into an existential crisis. Maybe that is why I was drawn to philosophy at University. Anyway, I don’t need it to make sense. I don’t need there to be any essential meaning or purpose. I am fine with the messy chaos of it all.

But we want to feel needed in life. Useful. Worthy. Like we have some sort of role in this life. That we fit in some niche. And that is difficult when you don’t really. Worse when we feel we don’t. When I was depressed it sucks away any sense of worth and definitely, that takes away any sense of meaning.

I found as I learned to re-train my brain to create those small ‘meanings’- and I am aware they are fabrications but they are basically ‘meaningful’ things to me because I tell my brain they are until it believed it to be true. I live for all those small things and all of them are worthy things in my life. In the grand scheme of things to a normal person my life may seem quite small. Quite confined. And so very limited.

But I find meaning in it. I find purpose. I know chosen my stance against suffering, I know how I endure it, I found my resiliency and when I can I choose how to react to it. There are bad days. Days the pain wins and all I can do is rest and recover. None of that means my life is less than. Less worthy. Of less value.

I know we can struggle with meaning and purpose and we do not feel quite as worthy as a person. And stigma the world inflicts on us confirms we should feel guilty and ashamed for our very existence. Often we feel as a burden. Nothing but something to tolerate. I have felt all of that and more. And that is why I found it so valuable to take control over my own pain story. Re-write that pain experience, those beliefs and thoughts and reactions. So that I could define new meanings and purposes within my limitations without that plague of guilt and shame societies insists I must feel. I just won't anymore. I can't.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nikki Albert

I'm a fiction writer under the pen name Lily Hamilton and a blogger under my name. I live in Alberta, Canada with my common-law spouse and my cat. I'm currently on disability with fibromyalgia, chronic migraine disease and chronic vertigo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.