Humans logo

Proposal In Paradise

With Audrey The Dolphin

By Barry WillettPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Dear Sirs

I have been told I should send our winning story with you as it made a lot of people laugh.

I would like to tell the story by explaining how I proposed to my (now) Wife

I arranged for Audrey the Dolphin to propose for me in the wild in Riviera Maya. (to which she knew nothing about)

Firstly I had to smuggle the ring through customs without her knowing (which is a story in its self)

I then arranged for me and Sally to go to a Sealife park (Dolphin Discovery) that enabled you to swim with Manatees, Seals, Manta Rays Sharks and above all Dolphins. (Sal's favourites)

but it so very nearly didn't happen......

We almost missed the bus as we had a few the night before, then Sal felt ill and said she didn't feel like swimming ( but in her words "I will go but only because you want to") and then we thought we had lost the ticket. which ended up in the tiny side pocket of her bag.(something told me it wasn't meant to happen lol.

Anyway, after meeting Bruce the Seal and going to swim with all the Sea life we finally came to the Dolphins.

Earlier on the owner had taken the ring and said he would arrange everything perfectly!!!

The Dolphins set on there way doing the show, pulling people along and interacting with everyone and just at the end the trainer winked at me.

He had my Engagement ring attached to a rubber ring and threw it into the open sea (which I was quite apprehensive about as it wasn't a cheap ring lol)

He then said to our group, for our final trick I am going to let Audrey pick someone at random to receive a rubber ring and place it over the Dolphins head he threw the ring and Audrey retrieved the rubber ring and proceeded to go towards Sally..Audrey then got onto Sally's lap and the trainer asked Sal to open the little box which was attached to the rubber ring..with this he winked at me again and as Sally opened the box I went down on one knee and proposed, to which she said yes and all the group cheered (and most of the ladies were crying).

We then went on a romantic cruise on a catamaran through the Mexican Sea. Needless to say, we were quite well known in our holiday resort as the couple who got engaged by the Dolphins.

Kind regards

Barry

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.