Humans logo

Personal opinion l Like borrowing and buying books but not reading, what kind of mentality is this?

I am not suitable for reading, but it does not mean that I am not eager for knowledge

By Annette Foong Phin BarryPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

A few days ago, I walked into the library near my home. Originally I only planned to borrow the water dispenser and leave after filling the bottled water, but I stayed there for a while. I grabbed some books casually, and put each one back on the shelf without looking at it. I am in a sense of ambivalence that I don't particularly want to read books, but have the urge to borrow books. But according to my past experience, once I borrow the book, I will definitely put it in a corner of the house and wait for the loan period to expire before returning it.

Similar things happen very often in bookstores. I like going to bookstores very much, and I often have the urge to buy books, and sometimes when I am driven by the urge to actually take action and buy books out of my pocket. But the books I bought in the past were either unfinished, or even unpacked.

With this kind of ambivalence, I can’t help thinking about one thing, that is, what kind of mentality does those who love to borrow books, or even buy books, but don’t read? I like borrowing and buying books but not reading. What kind of mentality is this?

I rarely read books since I was a kid

There is a small bookshelf in my house, but there are not too many books on it. Most of the books are either gifted by others, or bought from others, or bought in madness. I haven't read more than 90% of the books on the shelves, and some haven't even opened them.

I haven't read books often since I was young. I can't understand how the students who can win the reading competition award can read hundreds of books in just one year. Before entering university, the books I read most often were probably textbooks! Until after going to university, I didn't even like to read textbooks.

Many people think that people like me who love borrowing and buying books but don’t read them are all in order to show that they have a false breaking style of knowledge; or follow the trend; or buy books because they are full of knowledge anxiety, only to find that they are fundamentally No time to read. The outside world can hardly make any positive assumptions or comments about people in such a state. But I am very confused, because I never deny the fact that I don’t like to read books. I am very generous to admit to people around me that I may not even have enough reading for one book in a year, so fake it and follow. The trend is not suitable for me. Not to mention knowledge anxiety, I am not such a deep person.

Since you don't read books, why do you want to borrow books to buy books? I want to try to understand this state from my personal experience. What is going on?

I am not suitable for reading, but it does not mean that I am not eager for knowledge

For me, the biggest purpose of reading is to obtain information and knowledge. But it is very painful for me to obtain knowledge or information in the form of written words. My ability to concentrate is not high, and in the face of relatively thin stimuli like "words", I can't grab my attention at all. This caused me to think about other things in my mind while reading. Or after a few minutes of reading, I started to move around and wanted to divert my attention and find other interesting and stimulating things to do.

This state makes it easy for me to forget the content of the previous paragraph after reading a certain paragraph in the process of reading, so I often need to read the first and last paragraphs of the article repeatedly to understand the context of a particular paragraph. Sometimes I also want to make sure that I have a correct understanding of what the author actually wants to convey, so I also experience the process of repeated reading in a particular paragraph of text. It takes me a lot of time and energy to "really" finish reading a book.

And I have no patience for absorbing information. I often unconsciously and unrealistically expect that I can use the fastest speed and the most streamlined way to fully grasp the information. Therefore, if it takes a long time to repeatedly read and review the text messages, it is simply a waste of my patience. In the end, I can only give up.

Later, I gradually realized that I didn't have no desire for knowledge, but the way I received information really needed to be received through different senses in order to receive the information completely. For example: I get some knowledge through more stimulating ways such as chatting with others, watching videos, or personal experience, but it will be easier for me to remember. Or after experiencing conversations with others, watching videos, and personal experiences, adding knowledge from the book will make it easier to write down the text messages in the book.

Although most of the time, reading is not my hobby, but there are always moments when I want to read. Excluding when I was forced to read books (such as classes, exams), I had a short time when I was in high school and I liked reading novels, and recently I also wanted to read books related to my field of expertise.

Looking back at these points in time, I found that these moments are because I am currently curious about certain knowledge. For example, the reason why I want to take the initiative to read books related to my field of expertise in the near future is because I have gone through an internship and started to work. After having more experience in the professional field, she became curious and wanted to add new knowledge by turning the book.

This means that although I rarely read books, it does not mean that I am unwilling to receive new knowledge. It's just that I am less suitable for acquiring knowledge from books. As for the action of "borrowing and buying books", maybe I still want to understand the content of the book, but I don't have the patience and concentration to read it through. If I made it into a movie today, or turned it into dictation, maybe I would have the patience to digest the contents of the book. In addition, maybe at the moment when I select books, I am also looking forward to one day in the future, I will suddenly become highly curious about the contents of the books, and imagine that I will use these books one day! So even if you know that you don't read the book very much, you still want to take the book home first.

The selected book often finds that I have been deceived after reading it carefully, just like love

Although in the process of selecting a book, I will still look through the contents, but it is unlikely to look through the entire book. Sometimes, because I happened to read some passages in the book that attracted me in the process of reading at random, then I subconsciously thought that the following content must be interesting. But often after borrowing or buying the book, when reading the contents of the book carefully, it suddenly feels that the book is not so attractive. Maybe the content I read before deciding to take the book away happened to be interesting, but in fact, only that part of the content of the whole book was interesting; it might also be because I got it, which made the book lose the "distance" Beauty."

It is also undeniable that sometimes it is also affected by the cover of the book and the layout of the text. It is easy to use these superficial information to determine what the possible content of the book is and whether it is interesting. Once I read it in depth, I realized that I was deceived by the design of the book! I am not a person who wronged myself to finish reading the book, so in the end I simply put it aside in a corner of my home.

This is not just the same as choosing a partner! It’s usually after the relationship or after getting to know the other person that I realize that I’m blind, or when I get closer to the other person, I suddenly feel that the other person is not as cute as before. I found that there is a huge gap between the other person's true appearance and his appearance.

It may seem paradoxical and contradictory to buy books by borrowing books but not reading them, but in my own experience, it comes from its origins. In any case, how to use books is a personal choice!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Annette Foong Phin Barry

Share every day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.